Novak Djokovic Wimbledon 2015
Novak Djokovic will need to produce his best tennis to get the better of Bernard Tomic in the third round of WimbledonReuters

Novak Djokovic would have watched a big-serving, grass-is-perfect-for-him Dustin Brown overpower Rafael Nadal in the second round on Wimbledon on Thursday, and the Serbian will not want to meet the same fate when he runs up against Australian Bernard Tomic in the third round on Friday.

The defending champion has had a smooth-enough run at Wimbledon 2015 so far, pulling off straight set victories over two experienced players in Philipp Kohlschreiber and Jarkko Nieminen.

His stiffest test, though, should come in the shape of Tomic, who, on his day, is capable of beating any tennis player on the circuit.

Tomic's abilities particularly seem to come to the fore at Wimbledon, and Djokovic will know all about facing the Australian having beaten him in the quarterfinals in 2011. The then 18-year-old Tomic had pulled off a couple of major upsets to make it to the quarterfinals, before Djokovic managed to pick up a win in four sets.

The career of Tomic has not quite taken-off as expected after that terrific run at Wimbledon four years ago, but if there is one place the Aussie is capable of showing some magic it is the on the grass courts of the All-England club.

"Well, I do expect him to serve well, and I do expect him, you know, to mix up the game, come up with a lot of variety," said Djokovic.

"That's what he does. He's got a lot of talent in his hands. He can play flat shots. He can play short slice, come to the net. He has a very quick motion for the serve. It's very difficult to read it on grass.

"This is the surface that he loves playing the most on. So it's going to be a difficult match. I remember was it 2011, I think, quarterfinals, we played against each other. Four tough sets. So I'm not expecting anything easy there."

The other interesting men's singles match on Centre Court on Friday is the first one of the day, between Grigor Dimitrov and Richard Gasquet, the 11th and 21st seeds respectively.

Dimitrov is another player who seems to thrive on the grass courts of Wimbledon, but the Bulgarian is known more, of late, for being Maria Sharapova's boyfriend than for his exploits on the court.

That can all change with another deep run at Wimbledon, but in Gasquet, Dimitrov will find an equally outrageously talented tennis player, who has the ability to play shots of the highest order.

Stanislas Wawrinka is also in action on Friday in the men's singles, with the French Open champion facing Spanish veteran Fernando Verdasco, while Marin Cilic vs John Isner and Nick Kyrgios vs Milos Raonic should also be a couple of matches worth watching.

 Where to Watch Live

The first match on Centre Court is scheduled for a 5.30 pm IST (1pm BST, 8am ET) start. Djokovic vs Tomic is the second match scheduled on the show court. Court number two and below, matches will start from 4.45 pm IST (12.15pm BST, 7.15am ET).

Star Sports 2 and Star Sports 4 will show the Wimbledon action live in India and the sub-continent, while the matches can also be watched via live streaming online on and Hotstar.

ESPN will telecast the third round matches of Wimbledon on Friday live in the USA, while the matches can be live streamed on Watch ESPN. Channel 7 is the channel to flip to to watch Wimbledon live in Australia, with the live streaming option on Channel7 online.

BBC One and BBC Two will show all the third round action, including Djokovic vs Tomic, of Wimbledon 2015 live in the UK and Ireland, while the live stream option for is on BBC iPlayer.

Also read