Sania Mirza  and Martina Hingis
The Wimbledon champions are the top seeds for the US OpenReuters

Top seeds in the women's doubles, Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis, will kickstart their US Open campaign when they face the unseeded American pair of Kaitlyn Christian and Sabrina Santamaria on Thursday.

Sania and Hingis should not find it tough against the US pair, who made it to the main draw after being given wildcards. After having decided to join hands in the women's doubles arena, the Indo-Swiss pair have been in good form throughout the season, as they won the Indian Wells Open and the Miami Open, which played an important role in helping Sania reach world number one in doubles as well.

But, their major victory came in the last grand slam, Wimbledon, as the Indo-Swiss picked up their first grand slam title together. The pairing of Sania and Hingis, who are big favourites for the US Open title, will be gunning for their second grand slam crown, but they need to be maintain their form which has seen them reach great heights this season.

They are going to face stiff competition from other pairs such as Timea Babos/Kristina Mladenovic, who defeated the Indo-Swiss pair in the Rome Masters finals earlier in the year. However, the second-seeded pair of Czech Lucie Safarova and American Bethanie Mattek-Sands have pulled out of the competition.

In the other men's doubles match, Leander Paes and his new partner Fernando Verdasco, who is more of a singles specialist, will face German doubles pair Frank Moser and Florian Mayer.

With Paes having plenty of experience in the doubles competition, he needs to take the initiative when he partners alongside Verdasco. Paes has always been one of the best players at the net when it comes to doubles, with his amazing reflexes.

If the Indo-Spanish pair manages to get past their first round opponent, they have a tough task at hand in the next round as they are set to face the top seeds -- Bob and Mike Bryan -- who have won the US Open five times in their illustrious career.

Where to Watch Live

Leander Paaes/Fernando Verdasco vs Frank Moser/Florian Mayer men's doubles match has been scheduled for 3pm local time (12:30am IST, 8pm BST), while Sania Mirza/Martina Hingis vs Kaitlyn Christian/Sabrina Santamaria woemn's doubles match has been scheduled for 5:30pm local time (3am IST, 10:30pm BST)

The live coverage of the 2015 US Open is scheduled for 11am local time (8:30pm IST, 4pm BST, 1m AEST) start. Indian viewers can catch the entire Day 4 action on Ten Sports with live streaming option on

UK viewers can watch the Day 4 live coverage of the US Open on Sky Sports 1/HD with live streaming on Sky Go.

Viewers in the US can enjoy the live US Open coverage on ESPN and online on Watch ESPN.

Fox Sports 4 will offer live coverage of the US Open 2015 in Australia with an online option on Foxtel.

Also read