dustin johnson
Dustin Johnson of the US watches his tee shot on the fourth hole during the first round of the British OpenReuters

World No 2 Jordan Spieth will have to wait for his turn to start dominating the Open Championship 2015, as fellow American Dustin Johnson goes into the Day 2 of the golfing major sitting high on the leaderboard at St. Andrews.

The 31-year-old golfer, ranked No 4 in the world at the moment, recorded a seven-under-par 65 to end day one of the 144th Open Championship on a high note. He leads a group of golfers including Americans Zach Johnson and Robert Streb, South African Retief Goosen, 1999 Open champion Paul Lawrie of Scotland, England's Danny Willett and Jason Day of Australia, by one shot.

"Everyone knows the weather is going to get difficult, so it was important to get off to a good start and try to get as many birdies as you can," said the 31-year-old Johnson, who is seeking is first major win after several near misses.

Johnson's compatriot Spieth -- coming on the back of US Open and US Masters win this year -- is two shots off the lead after carding a 67. Alongside Spieth on five under are Louis Oosthuizen, winner at St Andrews in 2010, and fellow South African and former Masters champion Charl Schwartzel.

"The game plan was to get into position after round one and that's what we've done," said Spieth.

"I've always dreamed of playing the Open here as it's so iconic, so for my first round to go the way it has is great."

Three-time Open winner and golf veteran Tiger Woods -- ranked 241 in the world right now -- didn't have a very good showing, as he started with two bogeys and recorded an abysmal 76 at the end of the day. The 39-year-old, in the process, also posted his worst opening round score in an Open Championship in his career.

"I've just got to fight, fight through it," he said. "I know that today was a very benign day and that guys are going to go low. I'm so far back that in order for me to get to Sunday, the conditions will have to be tough, and I'm going to have to put something real solid together.

"Yes, it's discouraging," he admitted. "I was a little... angered a little bit.

Day 1 Highlights

Johnson will no doubt be looking to cement his position in the leaderboard, amidst the wind and rain forecast for Friday and Saturday. 

Spieth's quest for a third consecutive major will begin at 2:34pm BST (7:04 pm IST, 5:04am EST) on Friday. The Texan will be playing alongside Johnson and Hideki Matsuyama of Japan at St Andrews' Old Course. 

Also, Woods and Louis Oosthuizen (2010 Open winner) will tee off at 2:56pm BST (7:26pm IST, 5:04am EST) along with Jason Day of Australia.

Where to Watch Live

The Open Championship 2015 - second-round tee-off - starts at 6:32am BST (11:02pm IST, 1:32pm EST).

The championship will be broadcast in India on Star Sports HD2 & on Star Sports HD4.

The UK audience can catch it live on BBC Two (9 am - 8 pm BST), BBC Radio 5 live sports extra (9 am - 10 pm BST), BBC Radio 5 live (10 pm - 7 pm BST). The live streaming option is on BBC iPlayer.

US residents can watch the golfing major at ESPN (4am - 3pm EST), with the option of live streaming on Watch ESPN.

Live streaming is also available on the official website.

Also read
Quick Links