borussia dortmund
Borussia Dortmund's Pierre Emerick Aubameyang and Marco Reus during training ahead of the game at AnfieldReuters

Anfield remains the venue as Liverpool prepare to take on Borussia Dortmund in the second leg of their UEFA Europa League quarterfinal game on Thursday. The Reds drew 1-1 against the German side in their first-leg match in Ruhr.

Liverpool can take a cue from Premier League outfit Manchester City to reach the last four of the European competition this season. The Citizens made history as they got past French powerhouses PSG to enter the semifinals of the UEFA Champions League this week. It remains to be seen if the Reds can emulate the feat.

Divock Origi gave Liverpool the lead in their first leg encounter, before Mats Hummels equalised it for the hosts. Having the away goal advantage can work wonders for Jurgen Klopp and his army in the second leg if they contain Dortmund from scoring any at Anfield.

"We've been presented with a great chance," Klopp was quoted as saying by the BBC ahead of the match. "We certainly won't be flying a white flag. We're aware of Dortmund's quality. They can play better but so can we.

"Having the crowd is a bigger advantage for us than having the away goal."

The Bundesliga side, meanwhile, are yet to suffer a defeat in any competition in this calendar year. The likes of Ilkay Gundogan, Marco Reus and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang can do wonders on any given day if their chemistry works.

"I don't care too much about the first leg, I don't think it will be decisive," Dortmund coach Thomas Tuchel told UEFA. "We are here [Anfield] to attack — we are here to score goals, to take the risks and to enjoy the game. We are not here to explore our boundaries, we are here to explore our potential."

Klopp, meanwhile, has to decide between Origi or Daniel Sturridge to deploy up front as the lone striker in the match. In the absence of the injured Christian Benteke and Danny Ings, Sturridge and Origi have stepped up and impressed when they received the opportunity.

Where to watch live

Liverpool vs Borussia Dortmund is scheduled to kick-off at 9:05 p.m. CET (12:35 a.m. IST, 8:05 p.m. GMT, 4:05 p.m. ET), April 14.

Viewers in India can catch the game on Ten Action, while the streaming option of the game is also available on tensports.com.

UK viewers can catch the game on BT Sport Europe and BT Sport Ultra HD, while the online live stream option is on BT Sport Live and LFC TV GoThe BT Sport app will also show the match Live. Radio commentary is available on BBC Radio 5 Live.

US viewers can catch the game on Fox Sports 1 USA and ESPN Deportes TV. The option of live streaming is also available on Watch ESPNFoxSoccer2Go and Fox Sports Go.

People in Germany can tune into Sky Sport 1/HD and Sky Sport 2/HD. The live streaming is also available on Sky Go Deutschland.

Also read