andreas pereira
Manchester United's Andreas Pereira [L] will be the man to watch out for once again todayReuters

Premier League giants Manchester United host Championship side Middlesbrough at the Old Trafford on Wednesday evening in the fourth-round tie of the League Cup this season.

On paper, the Red Devils look a stronger side going into the game, but ground realities can change the dynamics and football fans know that very well. Premier League giants Arsenal and Chelsea suffered losses against Sheffield on Wednesday and Stoke City in the League Cup last night and no one could have predicted these losses. 

United will be expected to be aware of it, going into the game against Boro and they will be keen on fielding a strong side, even though some players remain on the sidelines owing to their crunch schedule so far.

Antonio Valencia remains sidelined as he is still nursing a foot injury which he picked up in the weekend's goalless Manchester Derby. Andreas Pereira, who scored from a superb free-kick in United's previous League Cup game against Ipswich Town, looks likely to start the game.

"I hope I can show the manager and impress everyone in the stadium and my team-mates," Pereira was quoted by the BBC ahead of tonight's game.

"If a free-kick appears and you've been practising, you sometimes have a feeling you will score. You feel confident and it's a very good feeling when the ball goes in," he added.

Meanwhile, Middlesbrough have got their work cut out today, and manager Aitor Karanka knows the intensity of challenge his team will face. 

"In the previous round against Ipswich, they [Manchester United] even played David De Gea in goals, so I am expecting them to play with their best players," Karanka said.

"They are better than last season and have a lot of quality players such as Wayne Rooney, Juan Mata and Anthony Martial.

"They can change the game in one second. They are quick in the transitions and we have to be careful. Their squad is amazing," he explained.

Good news for the visitors is that ex-Liverpool winger Stewart Downing is fit to participate in the game, but Albert Adomah and Adam Forshaw remain doubtful.

Expected starting XI

Manchester United: Romero; Darmian, Jones, Blind, Rojo; Carrick, Schneiderlin, Fellaini; Lingard, Pereira, Wilson.

Middlesbrough: Konstantopoulos; Kalas, Ayala, Gibson, Friend; Leadbitter, Clayton, Fabbrini; De Pena, Downing; Nugent.

Where to watch live

Manchester United vs Middlesbrough is scheduled to kick-off at 8 pm GMT (1:30 am IST, 9 pm BST, 4 pm EST).

In India, viewers can catch the game on Ten Action. Online streaming will be available on

In the UK, radio commentary is available on BBC Radio 5 Live.

In the US, viewers can catch the game on beIN Sports Connect. Online streaming will be available on beIN Sports Connect and Fubo TV.

International audience can catch up with the game on MUTV Online as well as bet365.

Also read
Quick Links