mo farah
Mo Farah will look to follow up his Moscow World Championships double with a Beijing 2015 world double as wellReuters

All eyes will be on British long-distance and middle-distance runner Mo Farah on the opening day of IAAF (International Association of Athletics Federations) World Athletics Championships in Beijing.

The two-time London 2012 Olympics Champion in the 5,000m and 10,000m race category begins his campaign at the Bird's Nest Stadium in Beijing with an eye on the gold in the 10,000m final on Saturday.

Although the record of the 32-year-old Somalia-born track-and-field athlete has been illustrious, Farah might not be in the best state of mind as it has not been a year worth remembering neither for him nor for his coach Alberto Salazar.

BBC had found from an investigation that Salazar has been accused of violating anti-doping rules in June this year. Farah, who has been a part of Salazar's camp, made headlines for this, although BBC reported that double-olympic champion wasn't involved in doping.

The emotional pressure, however, got the better of Farah and only a win this year at the World Championships can seem to restore his morale.

"It has been hard this year," Farah told the Daily Express. "But at the same time as an athlete you have to do what you do best: to run and just get on with it. Training has been going well. I'm happy. I have had to chill out and relax. As an athlete, you have to be happy in training and life to run well. I'm in a good place now. Everything feels good at the minute."

Farah comes into the track after winning the 5,000m at the Diamond League in Lausanne last month, and a double (5,000m and 10,000m gold) in the Moscow Athletic World Championships in 2013.

And, he will make if he clinches a world double this time as well.

"No-one has done it and it would be amazing to make history," Farah told BBC. "To win both from Moscow to here would be incredible. It's not going to be easy but it can happen."

The men's 10,000m final at the Bird's Nest Stadium starts at 20:50 local time (13:50 BST, 18:20 IST, 8:50 EST).

In other events, the fastest man on the planet, Usain Bolt, takes to the track in the men's 100m heats that will start at 19:20 local time (12:20 BST, 16:50 IST, 7:20 EST).

British female athletes Jessica Ennis-Hill and Katarina Johnson-Thompson take part in the heptathlon, which features shot put (11:30 BST, 16:00 IST, 6:30 EST) and 200m (13:15 BST, 17:45 IST, 8:15 EST) in the afternoon session.

Where to watch live

UK - BBC Two, BBC One, BBC red button, British Euro Sport

US - NBC, Universal Sport

Live Streaming will be available on the official IAFF YouTube channel.

For US audience, live streaming will be available at and

For UK audience, live streaming will be available at BBC iPlayer and British Eurosport player.

Also read