James Rodriguez Real Madrid
James Rodriguez will want to make an impressionReuters

Real Madrid will open their Copa Del Rey campaign with a round of 32 first leg clash at Cadiz on Wednesday.

Rafa Benitez's team got over that horrific loss in the El Clasico with two victories, one in the Champions League and the other in the La Liga at the weekend.

With more crucial games coming up, Benitez has named a fringe squad for this match, with much of the regular first-teamers, including Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale and Karim Benzema rested.

However, that does not mean Real Madrid are not taking the Spanish Cup match against Cadiz lightly.

"There is confidence following the last two wins," Real Madrid manager Benitez said. "The team has played two serious games, working together and that is important for the future.

"We are approaching the Copa del Rey, which is a target for us, just like every competition that Real Madrid play in.

"It is a dangerous game, against historic opponents and a good side. They have experienced players and we need to be very attentive and focused to do well because they can cause surprises. 

"I saw some coverage of the opponents and my assistants have helped me to obtain information. They are a team that play well, they have speed on the wings and experience in attack. They will undoubtedly give 100%."

Benitez does not believe the amount of chances that he has made – James Rodriguez, Pepe and Isco are the only real big names in the matchday squad – will affect Real Madrid's performance against the team in Segunda Division B. The manager also backed James, a player who reportedly does not enjoy the smoothest of relationships with the Spaniard, to shine on Wednesday.

"He is a player that was out injured," Benitez added. "There are no problems with him, he is an excellent player. The more he comes on and plays, the closer James will be to his best form.

"He has my full backing and confidence. James is an excellent player and a good footballer. I want the good players to play very well in every game and I want to see James in his best form every Sunday."

Where to Watch Live

Cadiz vs Real Madrid is scheduled for a 10 pm CET (2.30 am IST, 9 pm GMT, 4 pm ET) start. There will be no live coverage of the match in India.

Viewers in Spain can watch the Copa Del Rey first leg live on Canal+ and Movistar Futbol. Viewers in the UK can catch the action live on LaLiga TV.

Audience in the Middle East, North Africa, the US and Canada will be able to watch the game live on Bein Sports, while the online live streaming option is on Bein Sports Connect.

Also read