Galatasaray players huddle up during a training sessionReuters

Atletico Madrid and Galatasaray play in a crucial Champions League Group C encounter at the Vicente Calderon on Wednesday.

Galatasaray are two points behind Atletico Madrid, who are second, and need a win in Spain to keep their hopes of qualifying for the last 16 alive. Benfica lead Group C on nine points from four matches, two more than Atletico, and can qualify a few hours before this match even kicks off, if they beat Astana in the earlier game.

The Turkish club, who are a further four points adrift, are going through a transition period, with a new manager in Mustafa Denizli replacing Hamza Hamzaoglu. Glaudio Taffarel, the former Brazil international goalkeeper, will take interim charge and he hopes his team can do the business in one of the most difficult stadiums to play in.

"We come to Madrid knowing the difficulties – we know we will face a great side but we remain hopeful," Taffarel said. "You can't come here already defeated. We have hope. Atletico have good organisation and a good rhythm, they play as a team."

Atletico Madrid beat Galatasaray 2-0 in Istanbul on Matchday One, and with this match taking place in the more familiar home confines, Diego Simeone's men will be confident of all three points.

"We shouldn't think about the loss in Istanbul, just about the game in prospect," Taffarel added.

Simeone, whose team will be in the knockouts with a win, believes Galatasaray will give it their all, considering they have nothing to lose and everything to gain, and that will make them dangerous opponents.

"Galatasaray have many experienced players," Simeone said. "They have a lot of goals in them, although they have also conceded several. They have Turkish spirit and never give up. We need to play well and know what we need to do to get what we want – a victory."

Team news: Atletico Madrid: Striker Jackson Martinez is out with an ankle injury, while fullback Juanfran is a doubt owing to an adductor problem.

Galatasaray: Key forward Burak Yilmaz is suspended along with Selcuk Inan, while Hamit Altintop and Lionel Carole are ruled out with knee and hamstring injuries.

Where to Watch Live

Atletico Madrid vs Galatasaray is scheduled for an 8.45 pm CET (1.15 am IST, 7.45 pm GMT, 2.45 pm ET) start. Live coverage of the UEFA Champions League match in India will be on Ten Cricket, while the action can be watched via live streaming online on Ten Sports Live.

The UCL game will be shown live in Spain, Middle East, Australia, France and Canada on Bein Sports, while the online live streaming option is on Bein Sports ConnectIdman TV and Tivibu will broadcast the game live in Turkey.

Watch the Champions League game live on Fox Sports and ESPN 3 in the US, while the live stream option is on FoxSoccer2Go and Watch ESPN.

Viewers in the UK can watch the game live on BT Sport Xtra, while all the Champions League action can also be live streamed on Watch BT Sport.

Also read