Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce is the defending champion in the women's 100m sprint event.Reuters

After some entertaining action on Day 2 of the IAFF World Championships, which was highlighted by Usain Bolt's gold medal in the 100m, Day 3 also promises to enthrall fans around the world, with some key events scheduled for Monday in the afternoon session.

Out of the many events, the women's 100m semi-final and final alongside the 10,000m final are the ones to watch out for. 

Women's 100m semi-finals and final

If Usain Bolt won the gold medal for Jamaica in the men's 100m, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce is a huge favourite in the women's 100m event. Fraser-Pryce, who is the defending champion, has been in an impressive form during the season and it could be a huge setback if the Jamaican finishes second. 

During the heats as well, Fraser-Pryce was at her best as she clocked 10.88seconds, but the Jamaican will not take it lightly against some strong contenders such as Tori Bowie, who also clocked 10.88s in the first heat. Michelle-Lee Haye from Trinidad and Tobago finished her heat with 10.98s.

Both the sprinters -- Fraser-Pryce and Bowie -- are capable of running much faster and they should be able to come up with the best timings in the finals of the event. Fraser-Pryce has a best timing of 10.74 this season, while Bowie has also been impressive  with10.81seconds sprint this year.

However, one cannot turn a blind eye on US' English Gardner, who has a timing of 10.79 this season, looked decent with a 11.16s finish in heat 7 to qualify for the semis. 

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce will head into Day 3 as favourites. The Jamaican has been dominating the 100m event like fellow compatriot Usain Bolt in the men's category, as she has been running faster than any other woman for quite some time, which can be justified by her gold medal in the 2008 and the 2012 Olympic Games.

100m semi-finals and final Schedule

Semi Final – 7:40pm local time (5:10pm IST, 7:40am ET, 12:40pm BST)

Final – 9:35pm local time (7:05pm IST, 9:35am ET, 2:35pm BST)

Venue – Bird's Nest, Beijing

Favourites - Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce  and Tori Bowie

 Women's 10,000m final

The long distance races cannot be compared with sprint events such as 100m or the 200m, but it is definitely one to watch out for in the 2015 World Championships. With the absence of the defending champion Tirunesh Dibabe and another great long distance runner Linet Masai at the Bird's Nest, other runners will be eyeing the coveted gold medal. 

In their absence, Vivian Cheruiyot might be one of the leading contenders for the gold medal, but one cannot expect much from her as she is on her comeback trail as well after giving birth to her first child. The Kenyan won gold in the 2011 World Championships and bronze in the 2012 London Olympics.

However, there are other athletes from Ethopia, who will be eager to raise their flag high at the world championships, which include Gelete Burka and Alemitu Heroye. It is always the Ethopian and the Kenyan runners, who have been successful in the long distance events. Will it change this time around? Can Shalane Flanagan from the US surprise the top contenders?

10,000m final Schedule

Final – 8:35pm local time (6:05pm IST,8:35am ET, 1:35pm BST)

Venue – Bird's Nest, Beijing

Favourites - Vivian Cheruiyot, Gelete Burka and Alemitu Heroye

 Where to Watch Live, Live Streaming and TV Information:

Viewers in India can watch the Women's 100m semi-finals, final  and 10,000m final on Star Sports 2/HD, with the live streaming option on

Viewers in the US can watch Women's 100m semi-finals, final and 10,000m final on NBC Sports and Universal Sports with live streaming on NBC Sports Live Extra and Universal

UK viewers can watch Women's 100m semi-finals, final and 10,000m final on BBC and British Eurosport with an option of going online on BBCiPlayer and British Eurosport player.

International viewers can stream it live here.

Live updates of the entire event can be followed on the IAFF official website.




Also read