Vikas Gowda
All eyes will be on India's Vikas Gowda in the Men's Discus Throw finals on Day 8 of the IAAF World Championships 2015Reuters

It promises to be another exciting day at the IAAF World Championships in the afternoon session, as Day 8 will see some of the best in the world including the likes of Usain Bolt, Justin Gatlin, Mo Farah, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and others, take to the field to compete in their respective events.

Indian viewers too are all geared up for the event as 32-year-old Karnataka-born Vikas Gowda gets set on challenging for the honours in the final of the Men's Discus Throw today.

Men's Discus Throw Finals

Vikas Gowda gave Indians a reason to cheer on Thursday after he recorded 63.86m to finish fourth in the Group A qualification round making it to the final of the event. The Asian Games silver medallist is looking to making the most of this championship by winning one of the major honours today.

The Indian is however expected to face stiff challenge in the event from the likes of Fedrick Dacres (Jamaica), Piotr Malachowski (Poland) and Gerd Kanter (Estonia). Dacres led the Discus Throw qualification round with a throw of 65.77m.

The event starts at 19:50 local time (17:20 IST, 12:50 BST, 7:50 EST).

Men's 5000m Final

Great Britain's Mo Farah will be looking to bag one more gold double in the World Championships as he looks to build on the 10,000m win he registered in the opening day of the IAAF World Championships last Saturday at the Bird's Nest Stadium in Beijing.

The double gold winner in both the events in the London 2012 Olympics as well as the 2013 World Championships in Moscow, recorded a time of 13:19.44 on Wednesday, to qualify to the finals of the men's 5,000m race today.

He may be deemed as a favourite going into the race, but Kenya's Caleb Ndiku is expected to give him a real hard time on the track. Other Kenyans, such as Edwin Soi and Isiah Koech, as well as Ethiopian duo Yomif Kejelcha and Hagos Gebrhiwet are expected to be stiff competitiors for Farah.

The event starts at 19:30 local time (17:00 IST, 12:30 BST, 7:30 EST).

4 X 100m Relay Finals - Men and Women

The World's fastest man Usain Bolt is looking to bag all three gold medals in the World Championships this year. After bossing the 100m and the 200m finals this year, the Jamaican will look to help his nation build up their gold tally in the competition.

Bolt will join his compatriots Yohan Blake, Asafa Powell and Nickel Ashmeade in the finals of the relay this evening, to give another moment of pride for the Jamaicans. The nation holds the world record of 36.84 seconds in the relay race in London 2012.

"As long as next three people show up and are ready to go, I'm going to do my part, as always," a confident Bolt said ahead of the race.

The Justin Gatlin-led American contingent is however expected to give real competition to the Jamaicans in the event.

In the women's relay finals, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce leads the Jamaican women, and the 100m gold winner in the World Championships this year runs as the anchor for her team.

The women's event starts at 20:45 local time (18:15 IST, 13:45 BST, 8:45 EST), while the men's event starts at 21:10 local time (18:40 IST, 14:10 BST, 9:10 EST).

Women's 800m Finals

Kenya's Eunice Sum -- the defending women's 800m champion -- gets on to the track to challenge the likes of Canada's Melissa Bishop and Marina Arzamasova of Belarus. The 27-year-old Bishop broke the Canadian women's 800-metre record in Beijing's Bird's Nest stadium on Thursday to win her semifinal heat, and is expected to provide stiff competition to Sum.

The event starts at 19:15 local time (16:45 IST, 12:15 BST, 7:15 EST).

Where to watch Live

India - Star Sports 2/HD 2, with the live streaming option on

US - NBC Sports and Universal Sports with live streaming on NBC Sports Live Extra and Universal

UK - BBC and British Eurosport with an option of going online on BBC iPlayer and British Eurosport player.

International viewers can stream it live here.

Live updates of the entire event can be followed on the IAFF official website.

Also read