Manish Pandey
Manish Pandey will lead the India A side in the quadrangular series.IANS

India A have announced their squad for the quadrangular series in Australia. The selectors have taken some drastic calls when opting for the players. Skipper Naman Ojha has been dropped from the squad by the selectors and surprisingly, he was given no reason for their sudden change of mind.

Ojha even had his visa ready for the tour. The wicket-keeper batsman was a part of the strength and conditioning camp for the India A squad from July 12-17 at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bangalore.

However, Ojha has been retained as the captain of the team for the two four-day matches that India A will play against Australia A in September.

"Selectors have made four changes in the team (India A) and now I will go only for the four-day matches. Mera naam hatake unhone four changes kiya hai (they've removed me and made four changes), I was told two days ago," Ojha was quoted as saying by the Indian Express

The selectors have also dropped Shahbaz Nadeem, Vijay Shankar and Akhil Herwadkar from the India A squad, which will be travelling to Australia for the quadrangular series. These three players were also part of the same conditioning camp. 

India A are scheduled to play South Africa A, Australia A and Cricket Australia's National Performance Squad during this quadrangular series. 

India A squad for limited-overs series: Manish Pandey, Faiz Fazal, Mandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Karun Nair, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat, Barinder Sran, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sanju Samson.