Diego Costa Chelsea
Chelsea striker Diego Costa celebrates after scoring against Newcastle United in the English Premier LeagueReuters

Two meeting in two years in the knockout stages, and it is locked at 1-1. PSG and Chelsea will both hope they take the head-to-head lead when the two teams clash in the last 16 of the Champions League for the second time in as many years and the knockout stages of Europe's elite competition for the third consecutive season.

Both ties – won by Chelsea in 2014 and PSG in 2015 – have been decided on away goals, and even if Chelsea might not be having the greatest of seasons, while Laurent Blanc's men run away with the Ligue 1 title, this last 16 fixture can also be expected to be a really close encounter over the two legs.

The first leg could be the key, with PSG hosting Chelsea on Tuesday at the Parc des Princes. PSG will start this tie as the favourites, even if they were the ones who actually finished second in their group, with Chelsea coming out as group winners.

However, with Real Madrid in the same group, the French champions will not take that to heart too much, knowing they will be expected to get past Chelsea in this last 16 Champions League encounter. PSG currently hold a ridiculous 24-point lead at the top of Ligue 1, and that is after they failed to win at the weekend, when Lille held them to a 0-0 draw.

With summer signing from Manchester United Angel Di Maria adding a bit more stardust to an already-superstar filled squad, PSG will fancy their chances of moving past the quarterfinal stage, at the very least, this time out.

To do that they will have to win this last 16 tie against an experienced European side in Chelsea, who seem to be growing in confidence with every passing game. Chelsea are yet to lose a single game under Guus Hiddink, who took over from Jose Mourinho at the end of last year, and while there have been too many draws for comfort in that run, the Blues showed their true colours at the weekend, when they turned on the attacking style to thump Newcastle United 5-1 in the English Premier League.

With Diego Costa looking in the mood, Cesc Fabregas finding his rhythm and Eden Hazard, slowly but surely, looking more like his normal self, PSG will need to be at their absolute best to get a positive result at home, which, you feel, will be crucial to their hopes of qualifying for the quarterfinals.

Champions League round of 16: First leg: PSG vs Chelsea schedule

Date: Tuesday, February 16.

Venue: Parc des Princes in Paris.

Time: 8.45 pm CET (7.45 pm GMT, 2.45 pm ET, 1.15 am IST).

TV listings: India: Ten Action and Ten HD. UK: BT Sport Europe. USA: Fox Sports 1. Australia, Middle East, North Africa, Thailand, Indonesia, Canada, Spain and France: Bein Sports.

Also read
Quick Links