Viswanathan Anand
Viswanathan Anand is one of the big contenders in the ongoing Norway Chess 2015 tournament.Reuters

Barring Russia's Vladimir Kramnik, top chess players of the world are battling it out in the Norway Chess 2015 super tournament. The first round kick-started on Tuesday.

Magnus Carlsen, Viswanathan Anand, Alexander Grischuk, Fabiano Caruana and Veselin Topalov are the big names in the competition, which speaks volumes about the quality of the tournament.

The first round of Norway Chess 2015 witnessed some big matches, but it was surprising to see Magnus Carlsen suffer a shock defeat from a wining position to Topalov. Carlsen lost the game on time.

Had Carlsen been more careful about the fact of having no time increment after his 60th move, he would have turned triumphant.

With such a depressing loss, Carlsen will be eager to get back to his best when the second round starts on Wednesday.

Another top player, Anand also failed to win his match against Fabiano Caruana as it finished in a draw.

Anish Giri, Hikaru Nakamuraand Maxime Vachier-Lagrave also emerged victorious in the first round of the competition. 

It was just the first round of the competition and it has already created a dramatic opening with Carlsen's loss to Topalov. Hence, the second round is going to be crucial for Carlsen, who is set to face Fabiano Caruana who the second ranked player in the world.

France's Vachier-Lagrave after winning his first match will face Hammer Jon Ludvig in the second round. Lagrave surprised all and sundry after he won the blitz tournament, which also decided the tournament pairings.

In the second round Anand, who drew his first game, will look to defeat Anish Giri, who started the competition on a bright not with a victory.

Where to Watch Live

The second round of the Norway Chess 2015 is scheduled for 5pm CET (9:30pm IST, 12pm ET, 5pm BST) start.

It can be streamed online from the official website.

Also read