Neymar Luis Suarez Barcelona
Barcelona will face Granada on Saturday.Reuters

The ongoing 2016-17 La Liga season has already witnessed top teams like Real Madrid, Barcelona and Atletico Madrid dropping points, and the league is only expected to get tighter. It is week 10 of the La Liga, and Real currently top the table with 21 points, followed by Sevilla with 20 points. Barcelona, Villarreal and Atletico Madrid feature in the top five teams in the La Liga.

But that could change after the week 10 fixtures are played. Though there may not be massive clashes, there are matches that could play an important role in how the top half of the table look after the last match of week 10, Deportivo vs Valencia on Monday.

Before that, big teams like Real Madrid will hope to continue their impressive run in the La Liga as they are one of the two teams, other being Villarreal, yet to taste defeat this season. Real will face 13th placed side Alaves, and the table toppers should not have much trouble in getting past their opponent on Saturday.

They have been scoring goals for fun of late, and have slotted 20 goals in their last four matches in all competitions. Real's bitter rivals, Barcelona will host Granada at home, and they will be keen to play the quality of football, which they are known for, but that has sadly been missed in some of their La Liga matches including their 3-4 loss to Celta Vigo.

After that loss, they have defeated teams like Deportivo and Valencia (La Liga) and also Manchester City in Champions league. So they have got back to their winning ways, and that streak might be difficult for Granada to break.

Another serious contender Atletico will face Malaga on Saturday. On paper, the former look strong, but the competition has been such where teams cannot be taken lightly at any stage. After having suffered three draws and one loss, Atletico cannot afford to drop more points.

Besides the giants of the La Liga, second-placed Sevilla also defeated Atletico in their last encounter, while Villarreal face Eibar on Sunday.

However, it is a clash of the mid-table teams Las Palmas vs Celta Vigo, which could be an interesting encounter at Gran Canaria. With Celta Vigo having defeated teams like Barcelona, they will hope to clinch three points and move up the table.

Here is a look at all the La Liga matches

October 28 Leganes vs. Real Sociedad 8:45 pm local time (12:15 am IST, 2:45 pm ET)
October 29 Sporting vs. Sevilla 1 pm (4:30 am IST, 7pm ET)
October 29 Alaves vs. Real Madrid 4:15 pm  (7:45 am IST, 10:15 am ET)
October 29 Atletico Madrid vs. Malaga 6:30 pm (10 pm IST, 12:30 pm ET)
October 29 Barcelona vs. Granada 8:45 pm (12:15 am IST, 2:45 pm ET)
October 30 Eibar vs. Villarreal 12 am (3:30 am IST, 6pm ET)
October 30 Athletic Club vs. Osasuna 4:15 pm (7:45 am IST, 10:15 am ET)
October 30 Real Betis vs. Espanyol 6:30 pm (10 pm IST, 12:30 pm ET)
October 30 Las Palmas vs. Celta Vigo 8:45 pm (12:15 am IST, 2:45 pm ET)
October 31 Deportivo la Coruna vs. Valencia 9:45 pm  (1:15 am IST, 3:45 pm ET)

TV listings: India:Sony Six/HD. Spain: Movistar+, Canal+ Partidazo.UK: Sky Sports . USA, Canada, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia: BeIN Sports.

Quick Links