Oommen Chandy and VS Achuthanandan
Kerala CM Oommen Chandy and Opposition leader VS AchuthanandanFacebook/Official

The two-phase Kerala local body elections will begin on 2 November. The polling will conclude on 5 November, while the results will be declared on 7 November.

The first phase of the election will cover seven districts including Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Idukki, Wayanad, Kozhikode, Kannur and Kasaragod, while the second phase will cover Alappuzha, Pathanamthitta, Kottayam, Ernakulam, Thrissur, Palakkad and Malappuram.

The major coalitions -- the Congress-led United Democratic Front and the CPM-led Left Democratic Front -- will face stiff competition from the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Civic body polls in figures

Total number of voters 2.5 crore
New voters 5 lakh
NRIs 725
Total no of wards 21,871
Polling stations 35,000

2010 civic body polls outcome

Gram Panchayat 540 322 2 978
Block Panchayat 92 56 0 152
Zila Panchayat 8 6 0 14
Municipality 39 21 0 60
Municipal Corporation 2 3 0 5