cristiano ronaldo
Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates after scoring four goals against AndorraReuters

Faroe Islands have little to no chance to get past Euro 2016 champions Portugal in their FIFA World Cup qualifier on Monday at Torsvollur in the Faroe Islands. However, in football, the mantra is to not take any team for granted.

Portugal are coming into the game at the back of a heavy 6-0 win against Andorra, where the country's greatest footballer over the last decade, Cristiano Ronaldo, got on the scoresheet as many as four times. Portugal, however, remain third from Group B of the UEFA qualifiers in the competition, behind the Faroe Islands football team. 

Ronaldo's men lost their first match of the qualifiers against Sweden but the hosts for Monday's game, have remained undefeated so far, recording a draw against Hungary and then winning against Latvia.

Neither of the teams have clashed swords in a competitive game in the past, but in a friendly match in 2008, Portugal blanked Faroe Islands with a 5-0 score. Similar result this time around as well, given the confidence the Euro 2016 champions are in? Most likely, but nothing can be ruled out.

"We cannot forget the Faroe Islands have four points. They have had the same coach for five years, they have already drawn with Hungary and now they have won away," said Portugal coach Fernando Santos ahead of the game.

Schedule

Faroe Islands vs Portugal is scheduled to kick off at 7:45 pm BST (12:15 am IST [Tuesday], 2:45 pm ET) on October 10.

Where to watch live

INDIA: TV - Sony ESPN/HD. Live streaming - Sony Liv.

UK: TV - Sky Sports 1/HD, Now TV. Live streaming - Sky Go.

USA: TV - ESPN 3, ESPN Deportes. Live streaming - Watch ESPN.

PORTUGAL: TV - RTP 1.

Quick Links