Shakira
Shakira in "La la la (Brazil 2014)" music video.Screenshot from Official Video

FIFA World Cup 2014 will conclude on 13 July, ending a month of football extravaganza featuring the best teams from around the globe.

After receiving flak for a mediocre opening ceremony, organizers of the event has roped in Shakira to perform live at the closing ceremony.

The 25-minute opening ceremony, which saw Pitbull, Jennifer Lopez and Claudia Leitte performing FIFA World Cup 2014 theme song "We Are One (Ole Ola)" did not live up to the expectations.

Closing Ceremony Time and Venue

The FIFA World Cup 2014 closing ceremony will start at 10:50pm IST on Sunday (2:20 p.m. BRT / 01:20 p.m. EDT / 6:20 p.m. BST) ahead of the final between Argentina and Germany. The event will take place at the Estadio do Maracana, which is one of the biggest stadiums in the world. Seven World Cup matches have been played at the stadium, which was built when Brazil hosted the World Cup in 1950.

Live Performances

?

The organizers of FIFA World Cup 2014 have roped in Shakira to perform at the closing ceremony. The sensational singer, who performed the 2010 World Cup official song "Waka Waka (This Time for Africa)", will hit the stage again on Sunday to belt out the song "La La La (Brazil 2014)" with Brazilian artist Carlinhos Brown.

The closing ceremony will be a sort of music extravaganza with big names like Carlos Santana and Wyclef Jean set to perform live. An official statement from FIFA also has confirmed that Brazilian superstar Ivete Sangalo will perform a medley of songs with Alexander Pires.

Spanish footballer Carles Puyol, who was instrumental in helping his team win the World Cup four years ago in South Africa, will unveil the FIFA World Cup trophy alongside Brazilian model Gisele Bundchen, minutes before the final. 

Shakira's association with football dates back to her "Hips Don't Lie" performance at the 2006 FIFA World Cup opening ceremony in Berlin. She also sang 2010 World Cup official song "Waka Waka" four years ago in South Africa and performed the same at the opening ceremony. It was during the shoot of the song that she met her present partner Gerard Pique, Spanish footballer, with whom she now has a son named Milan.

She also recorded this World Cup's official anthem "La La La (Brazil 2014)" featuring Brazilian artist Carlinhos Brown, while the official song "We Are One" was done by Pitbull feat. Jennifer Lopez and Claudia Leitte.

Interestingly, Shakira's song is more popular than the official song. "La La La (Brazil 2014)" has been on Billboard's Hot 100 chart for six weeks, peaking at No. 53 in June before dropping to 60-77 this week, while "We Are One" peaked at No. 59 and currently ranked at No. 90, according to Billboard

"La La La (Brazil 2014)" Official Video