Wayne Rooney Manchester United
The pressure is on Wayne Rooney and Manchester United to beat Swansea CityReuters

The games just keep on coming. After Boxing Day and a round of fixtures a couple of days later, it is onto the New Year programme of the English Premier League with all ten of them expected to be predictably unpredictable.

Liverpool kick the New Year festivities off with a visit to London and West Ham, before the likes of Leicester City, Arsenal and Manchester United target three points against their respective opponents.

Leicester have been the story of the season so far, and even if their campaign has been derailed a touch by a loss and a draw – such is the high standards that they have set – Claudio Ranieri's men will be confident of finding that winning feeling again when they host Bournemouth.

Arsenal also have a home game, against relegation-threatened Newcastle United, and having responded well to the Southampton loss with a 2-0 win over Bournemouth, Arsene Wenger will expect more of the same from his players, especially with Mesut Ozil in the kind of form he is in.

There will be plenty of eyes firmly placed on Old Trafford when Manchester United host Swansea, a team they have struggled against in recent times. Swansea, though, are having a nightmare season, and after an encouraging performance against Chelsea, this is a game Manchester United should really be winning comfortably. Play a lot more like they did in that first half against the Blues, they should be able to pick up a long-awaited three points.

The big relegation battle on Saturday will be between Sunderland and Aston Villa, the bottom two clubs of the Premier League this season. Villa look definitely doomed, while Sunderland, after another loss on Wednesday to Liverpool, look like going the Championship way as well. You never know, though, maybe a win against your relegation rivals is the kind of fillip needed to go on a run and finally climb out of that drop zone.

Manchester City travel to Watford for the late game on Saturday, and with their away form as bad as it is, this is a match that Quique Sanchez Flores' team will fancy getting something out of.

Sunday's fixture list has two matches – Crystal Palace vs Chelsea and Everton vs Tottenham. Palace have already beaten Chelsea this season, and that too at Stamford Bridge, and while the Blues have shown signs of improvement following Jose Mourinho's departure, this is going to be a tricky game for the West Londoners. Palace, though, are shy on goals, and with Diego Costa back in the lineup, Guus Hiddink will hope this is the match he finally gets his first win on return.

The match of the weekend could be the final one between Everton and Tottenham. The Toffees played out a riveting game against Stoke on Monday, and even if they came out on the wrong end of the result, there is no doubting the team's attacking talents. Spurs have been one of the most difficult teams to beat this season, and are looking like serious title contenders. A win over Everton at Goodison Park will only increase that feeling.

EPL schedule: Saturday, 2 January: West Ham vs Liverpool (7.45 am ET, 12.45 pm GMT, 6.15 pm IST) at Boleyn Ground.

Leicester City vs Bournemouth (10 am ET, 3 pm GMT, 8.30 pm IST) at King Power Stadium.

Arsenal vs Newcastle United (10 am ET, 3 pm GMT, 8.30 pm IST) at the Emirates.

Manchester United vs Swansea City (10 am ET, 3 pm GMT, 8.30 pm IST) at Old Trafford.

Norwich City vs Southampton (10 am ET, 3 pm GMT, 8.30 pm IST) at Carrow Road.

Sunderland vs Aston Villa (10 am ET, 3 pm GMT, 8.30 pm IST) at the Stadium of Light.

West Bromwich Albion vs Stoke City (10 am ET, 3 pm GMT, 8.30 pm IST) at the Hawthorns.

Watford vs Manchester City (12.30 pm ET, 5.30 pm GMT, 11 pm IST) at Vicarage Road.

Sunday, 3 January: Crystal Palace vs Chelsea (8.30 am ET, 1.30 pm GMT, 7 pm IST) at Selhurst Park.

Everton vs Tottenham (11 am ET, 4 pm GMT, 8.30 pm IST) at Goodison Park.

TV listings: India: Star Sports network. UK: BT Sport and Sky Sports. Singapore: 102 Mio. Hong Kong: Now TV. China: PPTV Sports. Thailand: CTH. USA: NBCSN.Canada: TSN and Sportsnet. Australia: Fox Sports. Middle East and North Africa: Bein Sports.France and Spain: Canal+. Germany: Sky Sport.

Also read
Quick Links