Lionel Messi Argentina
Lionel Messi will want to light up the Copa America Centenario with his magic. Pictured: Messi celebrates after scoring a goal against Bolivia in a World Cup qualifier, March 29, 2016.Reuters

Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez, Alexis Sanchez, Willian, James Rodriguez, Javier Hernandez – just some of the players who will feature in this Copa America Centenario. With South America's best combining with Concacaf's finest, this special edition of the Copa America should be one to savour.

Chile come in as the defending champions, having beaten Argentina on home soil in the final last year, but considering this Copa America is not quite a conventional one, Sanchez, Arturo Vidal and co. can still consider themselves as the South American champions, even if they do not win this tournament.

That doesn't mean this Copa America is not an important one. For Argentina, and Messi, this is an earlier-than-expected shot at redemption, having fallen at the final hurdle in both the World Cup and Copa America. For Brazil, this is another opportunity at moving on from that World Cup debacle and building a foundation capable of competing at the top level for years to come; an opportunity for Dunga to show he is taking the Selecao down the right path.

Dunga, though, will have to inspire Brazil to the title without their talisman Neymar, who will play in the Rio Olympics, instead of the Copa America Centenario.

Looking to top the likes of Chile, Argentina and Brazil will be Uruguay, with that man Suarez back in the lineup. Hopefully, for the tournament and football's sake, there will be no controversies or suspensions or biting incidents surrounding the supremely talented Uruguayan and the only thing that will make the headlines will be his performance on the pitch.

Considering the form that Suarez is in, he is a strong bet to win the golden boot at the Copa America Centenario, provided he is fit from the start of the tournament, which looks unlikely considering he suffered a hamstring injury during Barca's last game of the season. Expected to give Suarez and likes of Sergio Aguero and Gonzalo Higuain a run for their money in that goalscoring department is Hernandez. Chicharito, as he is known, is coming off a stellar season with Bayer Leverkusen, and with Mexico putting out a strong team, expect Hernandez and his side to be one of the most dangerous teams in the tournament.

A total of 16 teams will compete in this Copa America 2016, and hoping to make the biggest impact will be the hosts – USA. USMNT have blown hot and cold under coach Jurgen Klinsmann, but they do have the advantage of playing at home. The Americans can be great one day and extremely poor the next, so Klinsmann will hope it is the former that shows up for the bulk of this tournament, which starts on Friday with an opener between the hosts and Colombia, another team led by James Rodriguez, who will fancy their chances of lifting the title.

Groups: Group A: USA, Colombia, Costa Rica, Paraguay.

Group B: Brazil, Ecuador, Haiti, Peru.

Group C: Mexico, Uruguay, Jamaica, Venezuela.

Group D: Argentina, Chile, Panama, Bolivia.

Copa America Centenario schedule:

June 3: USA vs Colombia (9.30 p.m. ET, 2.30 a.m. BST, 7 a.m. IST) at Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara.

June 4: Costa Rica vs Paraguay (5 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. BST, 2.30 a.m. IST) at Camping World Stadium in Orlando.

Haiti vs Peru (7.30 p.m. ET, 12.30 a.m. BST, 5 a.m. IST) at CenturyLink Field in Seattle.

Brazil vs Ecuador (10 p.m. ET, 3 a.m. BST, 7.30 a.m. IST) at Rosebowl Stadium in Pasadena.

June 5: Jamaica vs Venezuela (5 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. BST, 2.30 a.m. IST) at Soldier Field in Chicago.

Mexico vs Uruguay (8 p.m. ET, 1 a.m. BST, 5.30 a.m. IST) at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale.

June 6: Panama vs Bolivia (7 p.m. ET, 12 a.m. BST, 4.30 a.m. IST) Camping World Stadium in Orlando.

Argentina vs Chile (10 p.m. ET, 3 a.m. BST, 7.30 a.m. IST) at Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara.

June 7: USA vs Costa Rica (8 p.m. ET, 1 a.m. BST, 5.30 a.m. IST) at Soldier Field in Chicago.

Colombia vs Paraguay (10.30 p.m. ET, 3.30 a.m. BST, 8 p.m. IST) at Rosebowl Stadium in Pasadena.

June 8: Brazil vs Haiti (7.30 p.m. ET, 12.30 a.m. BST, 5 a.m. IST) at Camping World Stadium in Orlando.

Ecuador vs Peru (10 p.m. ET, 3 a.m. BST, 7.30 p.m. IST) at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale.

June 9: Uruguay vs Venezuela (7.30 p.m. ET, 12.30 a.m. BST, 5 a.m. IST) Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia.

Mexico vs Jamaica (10 p.m. ET, 3 a.m. BST, 7.30 p.m. IST) Rosebowl Stadium in Pasadena.

June 10: Chile vs Bolivia (7 p.m. ET, 12 a.m. BST, 4.30 a.m. IST) Gillette Stadium in Foxborough.

Argentina vs Panama (9.30 p.m. ET, 2.30 a.m. BST, 7 a.m. IST) Soldier Field in Chicago.

June 11: USA vs Paraguay (7 p.m. ET, 12 a.m. BST, 4.30 a.m. IST) at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia.

Colombia vs Costa Rica (9 p.m. ET, 2 a.m. BST, 6.30 a.m. IST) at NRG Stadium in Houston.

June 12: Ecuador vs Haiti (6.30 p.m. ET, 11.30 p.m. BST, 4 a.m. IST) at Metlife Stadium in East Rutherford.

Brazil vs Peru (8.30 p.m. ET, 1.30 a.m. BST, 6 a.m. IST) at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough.

June 13: Mexico vs Venezuela (8 p.m. ET, 1 a.m. BST, 5.30 a.m. IST) at NRG Stadium in Houston.

Uruguay vs Jamaica (10 p.m. ET, 3 a.m. BST, 7.30 a.m. IST) at Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara.

June 14: Chile vs Panama (8 p.m. ET, 1 a.m. BST, 5.30 a.m. IST) at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia.

Argentina vs Bolivia (10 p.m. ET, 3 a.m. BST, 7.30 a.m. IST) at CenturyLink Field in Seattle.

Quarterfinals: June 16: Quarterfinal 1 (9.30 p.m. ET, 2.30 a.m. BST, 7 a.m. IST) at CenturyLink Field in Seattle.

June 17: Quarterfinal 2 (8 p.m. ET, 1 a.m. BST, 5.30 a.m. IST) at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford.

June 18: Quarterfinal 3 (7 p.m. ET, 12 a.m. BST, 4.30 a.m. IST) at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough.

Quarterfinal 4 (10 p.m. ET, 3 a.m. BST, 7.30 a.m. IST) at Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara.

Semifinals: June 21: Semifinal 1 (9 p.m. ET, 2 a.m. BST, 6.30 a.m. IST) at NRG Stadium in Houston.

June 22: Semifinal 2 (8 p.m. ET, 1 a.m. BST, 5.30 a.m. IST) at Soldier Field in Chicago.

June 25: Third-place playoff (8 p.m. ET, 1 a.m. BST, 5.30 a.m. IST) at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale.

June 26: Final (8 p.m. ET, 1 a.m. BST, 5.30 a.m. IST) at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford.

TV listings: India: Sony Six and Sony ESPN. USA: Fox Sports. Mexico: TDN, Azteca and Canal 5. Canada: Univision. South America and Latin America: DirecTV. UK: Premier Sports. Singapore: Singtel. Hong Kong: Now TV. Thailand: True Sport. France and Australia: Bein Sports. Spain: Canal+.

Also read