Barcelona UEFA Super Cup 2015
Barcelona players celebrate after defeating Sevilla to win the UEFA Super Cup 2015 titleReuters

After Lionel Messi and Luis Suarez inspired Barcelona to their first title of the new season with a UEFA Super Cup victory over Sevilla, the European champions will turn their attentions to Spain's Super Cup version, with the first leg against Athletic Bilbao scheduled for Friday.

With Barcelona winning all titles available in Spain last season, the La Liga and Copa Del Rey champions will play the runners-up of the Spanish Cup from last season – Athletic Bilbao.

A mesmerising performance from Messi, which was capped off by a truly stunning goal decided that final last season, and having warmed-up for the new season by scoring two goals in the UEFA Super Cup, expect the Barcelona wonder to torment Athletic Bilbao again.

Messi was on hand to score the equaliser in the UEFA Super Cup, after Sevilla had opened the scoring early, before giving Barcelona a 2-1 lead. The European champions would then make it 4-1, via goals from Rafinha and Luis Suarez, who was also irresistible on the night, before Sevilla roared back to take the game to extra time by scoring three goals.

Pedro Rodriguez, who could very well be an ex-Barcelona player before this Spanish Super Cup against Athletic Bilbao starts, then scored the winner in extra time, giving Barca their first trophy of the season.

"It's hard to win any trophy and this match showed that," Luis Enrique said after the victory over Sevilla. "The game was really difficult for us at the beginning, we started off falling behind but came back against difficult opponents. It was really tough.

"We're really happy about the trophy, for ourselves, the players and supporters. Sevilla reacted really well. We now have to think about the Spanish Super Cup.

"Clearly when you're winning 4-1 your opponents have nothing to lose. What we need to do, though, is analyse what happened after that and how they got back into the match, through a penalty and some attacks down the flanks. It happens."

With two legs to be played in this Spanish Super Cup match, Enrique will know, even if Barcelona fail to produce their top level in the first leg, they will always have the opportunity to come back strong in the second leg at home.

Spanish Super Cup Schedule: 1st Leg: Friday, 14 August: Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona (10 pm local time, 1.30 am IST, 9 pm BST, 4 pm ET) at San Mames Stadium.

2nd Leg: Monday, 17 August: Barcelona vs Athletic Bilbao (10 pm local time, 1.30 am IST, 9 pm BST, 4 pm ET) at Camp Nou.

Also read