(representatinal image) Rajesh Chauhan was once part of the Indian team.Reuters

Australia and India will take on each other in the bilateral series that will begin on Thursday, 10 October. The series will feature one T20 and seven One Day International (ODI) matches.

The series will kick off with a T20 match at Rajkot, India. The first ODI will take place on Sunday in Pune and the last match will be played on 2 November in Bangalore.

India has made a few changes to the squad that won the ICC Champions Trophy this year. Players like Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Irfan Pathan, and Umesh Yadav have lost their places in the squad and have been replaced by Yuvraj Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Jaydev Unadkat and Shami Ahmed.

Indian batting looks impressive with MS Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Yuvraj Singh in the line-up. However, senior players like Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Zaheer Khan and Harbhajan Singh have failed to make it to the squad.

Australia have also made a few changes to the squad that played in the ICC Champions Trophy. George Bailey will lead the team after Michael Clarke has been ruled out due to a back injury.

Players like David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Clarke, Mitchell Starc have made way for Callum Ferguson, Moises Henriques and Aaron Finch. The team will look forward to those players who are familiar with Indian pitch following their stint in the IPL and CLT20, to perform in the series.

Indian Squad (For 1st 3 ODIs):

MS Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Ambati Rayudu, Mohammed Shami, Jaydev Unadkat

Auatralian Squad:

George Bailey (captain), Xavier Doherty, Callum Ferguson, Matthew Wade, Phillip Hughes, Clint McKay, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson, Moises Henriques, Aaron Finch, James Faulkner, Nathan Coulter-Nile