National Film Awards, Mohanlal, Surabhi Lakshmi
Check Mollywood celebs who have bagged 64th National Film Awards.Facebook

The 64th National Film Awards was declared on Friday, April 7. Mollywood industry has earned as many as 7 recognitions for the movies released in 2016.

Check National Film Awards winners' list

Actress Surabhi Lakhsmi was unanimously selected as the Best Actress for her notable performance in the movie, Minnaminungu. Mohanlal has bagged a Special Jury Award for his two Malayalam films, Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol, Pulimurugan and the Telugu action thriller Janatha Garage. This is the fifth National Award for the superstar.

Check Bollywood winners' list

Meanwhile, Dileesh Pothan's directorial venture Maheshinte Prathikaram, starring Fahadh Faasil, has been selected as the best Malayalam feature film. Shyam Pushkaran, who scripted the family entertainer, has won the best screenplay (original) award. Jayadevan has been selected as the best sound engineer for his work in K Biju's critically acclaimed film, Kaadu Pookunna Neram. Adheesh Praveen has been selected as the best child artiste for his performance in Kunju Daivam.

The jury introduced a new category, Best Stunt Master award, this year. Peter Hein, who cheoreographed the stunt sequences in Mohanlal's Pulimurugan, has bagged the award.

Many celebrities have congratulated the winners of 64th National Film Awards.

Mohanlal: Hearty congratulations and sincere appreciation to all the National Award winners. I would also like to express my gratitude to Jury for having given me this special recognition. I am truly humbled and honored. Every film becomes a success only because of the team effort. I am taking this opportunity to thank and share this award with all my team members from the film fraternity, my family and friends for their love and support.

Check out what other celebs have to say:

Sajitha Madathil

Surabhi Best Actress!! Big Hug!

Vivek Ranjit

And congrats to SyamPushkaran for the National Award for Best Screenplay, and to DileeshPothan and AashiqAbu for the Best Malayalam Film.

Aju Varghese

Congrats to all the National Award winners :)))
Special congrats to team "Maheshite Prathikaram" and Surabhi :)

Roopesh Peethambaran

Congratulations Lal ettaaa, Dileesh Pothan, Aashiq Abu, Syam Pushkaran,
Sou Sadanandan - Malayalam Documentary Chembai, Surabhi Lakshmi, Peter Hein and rest of the National Award Winners