Polling officials busy counting votes cast.IANS

Counting of the votes for the Karnataka by-elections held on December 5 in 15 Assembly constituencies began on Monday.

"Vote count in all the 15 Assembly segments began at 8.00 am at 11 centres, including three in Bengaluru for four urban seats. Postal ballots are counted first, followed by counting of votes in EVMs," Election Commission official G Jadiyappa told IANS.

Elections were held at the Yellapur, Ranebennur, Vijayanagara, Yeshwantpur, Mahalakshmi Layout, Chikkaballapura, KR Puram, Shivajinagar, KR Pete, Hunsur, Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Hirekerur, and Hoskote seats.

The results of the by-polls will decide the fate of the four-month-old BS Yediyurappa-led Bharatiya Janata Party government in the state.

In the current 207-member Assembly, the Yediyurappa government has a majority with 106 MLAs, including an independent lawmaker. While the actual total strength of the Assembly is 224, 14 Congress and three Janata Dal (Secular) MLAs had resigned in July, leading to the collapse of the previous HD Kumaraswamy government. The rebel MLAs joined the BJP in November.

Following the MLAs' resignation, they were disqualified by the then Speaker, KR Ramesh. The by-polls were held to fill the vacancies caused after the disqualification.

The results are likely to be declared by the afternoon.

Here are the Live updates on Karnataka by-elections:

Live Updates

2019-12-0914:50 (IST)

BJP wins in 6 seats, leading in 6 constituencies

2019-12-0913:47 (IST)

It's a victory for the people from the constituency says Anand Singh

BJP's Anand Singh reacts on his win from Vijayanagar, says it's a victory for the people from the constituency.

2019-12-0913:06 (IST)

ST Somashekar wins from Yeshwanthpur

BJP candidate ST Somashekar wins from Yeshwanthpur constituency.

2019-12-0912:57 (IST)

Karnataka voted for a stable government, says PM Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi says the people of Karnataka have voted for a stable government. He adds that Karnataka has rejected Congress and JD(S).

2019-12-0912:48 (IST)

Rizwan Arshad wins from Shivajinagar

Congress candidate Rizwan Arshad wins from Shivajinagar constituency.

2019-12-0912:39 (IST)

PM Modi congratulates Yediyurappa

Prime Minister Narendra Modi calls Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa to congratulate him on BJP's victory in the state.

2019-12-0912:14 (IST)

Sharath Bachegowda leads by 9,640 votes from Hoskote

Independent candidate Sharath Bachegowda leads by 9,640 votes from Hoskote constituency.

2019-12-0912:00 (IST)

CM BS Yediyurappa celebrates with his son BY Vijayendra as BJP leads on 12 out of 15 seats

2019-12-0911:59 (IST)

BJP bags first seat in Karnataka Assembly Bypoll

BJP bags first seat in Karnataka Assembly Bypoll. BJP candidate from Yellapur, Arabail Shivaram Hebbar, defeats Congress' Bhimanna Naik by over 31,000 votes.

2019-12-0911:30 (IST)

People have accepted the defectors, we have accepted defeat: DK Shivakumar

Karnataka Congress troubleshooter DK Shivakumar said, "We have to agree with the mandate of the voters of these 15 constituencies. People have accepted the defectors. We have accepted defeat, I don't think we have to be disheartened".

Karnataka Congress leader DK Shivakumar.Twitter/ANI
2019-12-0911:27 (IST)

People chose BJP as they want a stable government: R Ashoka

The people chose BJP as they want a stable government says, R Ashoka. He said that Siddaramiah should take moral responsibility and resign.

2019-12-0911:23 (IST)

Congress candidate HP Manjunath defeats BJP's H Vishwanath in Hunsur

Major setback for BJP's H Vishwanath in Hunsur constituency as Congress candidate HP Manjunath defeats him by 31,036 votes by end of 15th round of counting.

Manjunath has gathered 75,586 votes while Vishwanath has 44,550 votes and JD(S)'s Somashekar has 26,746.

2019-12-0911:01 (IST)

Congress' Rizwan Arshad leading with 19,531 votes in Shivajinagar

Congress candidate Rizwan Arshad is leading with 19,531 votes in Shivajinagar after the fifth round of counting. BJP candidate Saravana has 11,981 votes and JD(S) candidate Tanveer Ulla is far behind with just 330 votes.

2019-12-0910:31 (IST)

Congress leading in Shivajinagar

Congress is leading in Shivajinagar with 14,802, BJP - 9694, JD(S) - 282 and Nota - 297

2019-12-0910:22 (IST)

BJP celebrates 'massive lead'

BJP's Amit Malviya took to Twitter to celebrate the massive lead in Karnataka by-election results. 

Amit Malviya
2019-12-0910:10 (IST)

BJP leads in 11 seats, Congress-JD(S) in 3

BJP is currently leading in 11 of the 15 seats. Congress is leading in two and JDS is leading in one. An Independent is leading in one seat.

2019-12-0909:59 (IST)

Latest EC trends

The ruling BJP is leading in 10 seats, Congress & JDS leading in two seats each, Independent leading in one seat.

2019-12-0909:57 (IST)

BJP leads in 9 seats

According to latest EC trends, BJP is leading in nine seats, Congress and JDS in two seats each and Independent candidate in one.

2019-12-0909:42 (IST)

BJP takes lead in 8 seats

The ruling BJP is leading in 8 of the 15 Assembly constituencies. "According to initial trends, the BJP is leading in 8 Assembly segments, while the opposition Congress and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) in two seats each," poll official G Jadiyappa told IANS.

2019-12-0909:40 (IST)

Congress candidate leads in Shivajinagar

Congress candidate Rizwan Arshad is leading in Shivajinagar constituency with 4,362 votes. 

Rizwan Arshad
2019-12-0909:25 (IST)

By-polls result trends

BJP leading in Hirekerur, Ranibennur, Yellapur, Chikkaballapur, Vijayanagara and Mahalaxmi Layout; Congress leading in Shivajinagar and Hunasuru; JDS leading in KR Pete and Yeshvanthapura and Independent candidate SK Bachegowda leading in Hosakote.

2019-12-0909:07 (IST)

Recent ED trends

According to EC trends, BJP is leading in Yellapur and Chikkaballapur constituencies, Congress leading in Shivajinagar and Hunasuru constituencies and JDS leading in KR Pete.