assembly election results 2017, uttar pradesh election results 2017, up election results 2017, voting in uttar pradesh, chief ministerial candidates of uttar pradesh
A woman gets her finger inked before casting her vote at a polling station during the state assembly election in Hapur, in the central state of Uttar Pradesh, India, February 11, 2017.Reuters file

Jharkhand witnessed  28.5 per cent polling till 11 am on Saturday, December 7, for the second phase of the Assembly polls. The highest polling has been recorded in the Majhgaon Assembly seat with 36.73 per cent and lowest at Jamshedpur (West) with - 20.6 per cent. 

Till 9 am, Jharkhand witnessed 13.03 per cent polling. The highest polling has been recorded in the Sraikel Assembly seat with 15.66 per cent and lowest at Kolebira with 8.5 per cent

Voting began on Saturday, for the second phase of the Jharkhand Assembly polls. The polling which started at 7 am, will end at 3 pm. Whereas for the two Assembly seats, Jamshedpur East and Jamshedpur West, it will conclude at 5 pm.

For 20 Assembly seats, there are: 

  • Total 260 candidates whose fate will be decided by 48,25,038 voters
  • Including 23,93,437 women and 90 third gender.
  • Voting in 6,066 polling booths of which 1,016 are located in urban areas and rest in rural areas.
  • More than 40,000 security forces have been deployed in the second phase which is taking place in Maoist affected areas.
  • Of the 20 seats, 16 reserved for the Schedule Tribe (ST) and one for Schedule Caste (SC).

20 Assembly seats, 260 candidates

[Representational Image]Reuters

Chief Minister Raghubar Das is contesting from the Jamshedpur East seat, where he is pitted against former cabinet colleague Saryu Rai and Congress spokesperson Gaurabh Vallabh. Also in the fray in this phase are Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Dinesh Oraon, Urban Development Minister Neelkanth Singh Munda, Water Resources Minister Ramchandra Sahis, former cabinet minister Saryu Rai and state BJP President Laxman Giluwa. Jailed Maoist commander Kunadan Pahan is fighting from Tamar Assembly seat.