In Gujarat, the BJP won a massive 156 seats relegating Congress to 17 and AAP to 5 seats, while Congress made impressive gains in Himachal Pradesh winning 40 seats our of 68 to form the next government.

In Gujarat, the official Election Commission website showed that the BJP was leading in more than 150 seats since the morning while the Congress was leading in 17 constituencies and the AAP was leading in 5 seats.

Gujarat Assembly elections

The counting began in Gujarat across 37 centres amid tight security at 8 a.m. In the 2017 general elections in Gujarat, 2,94,64,326 votes were polled with a voter turnout of 68.39 per cent. Of this BJP had polled 1,47,24,031 with a vote share of 49.05 per cent and had won 99 seats. The Congress had polled 1,24,37,661 votes with a vote share of 41.44 per cent and 77 seats.

Early trends clearly show that the AAP on a large-scale is denting the Congress votes. Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel and Minister of State for Home Harsh Sanghvi were leading and Congress' senior leader Arjun Modhwadia was also leading.

In Himachal Pradesh, it is a close fight between the BJP and Congress. As per the latest trends, the BJP was leading in 31 Assembly constituencies while the Congress was leading on 23 seats. Independents were leading on three seats.

Himachal Polling
Voters going for voting in Himachal PradeshCEO Himachal Pradesh

The Himachal Pradesh high-stake election was held on November 12, sealing the electoral fate of 412 candidates, including 24 women. A 75.60 per cent voter turnout was recorded, breaking the 2017 record of 75.57 per cent.

The counting of votes began at 8 a.m. at 68 centres in 59 locations in Himachal Pradesh.

The results will decide the political fate of BJP leader and Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur and his 10 ministerial colleagues, besides Congress Legislature Party leader Mukesh Agnihotri and former state Congress chief Sukhwinder Sukhu.