Asiavision Movie Awards 2016
Asiavision Movie Awards 2016

Winners of the 11th edition of Asiavision Movie Awards were announced on Monday, November 14. The event honours the best performers and technicians in the Indian entertainment industry.

Bollywood actress Sonam Kapoor will be presented the Icon of India award for her contribution to Indian cinema. She also bagged the Best Actress Award for her performance in the Hindi movie, Neerja. Amy Jackson will be given with the Excellence in Indian Cinema award, while Radhika Apte will be hailed for her outstanding performance in Parched, Kabali and Phobia. 

In the category of Malayalam movies, young star Nivin Pauly has been selected as the best actor for his realistic acting in the blockbuster films, Action Hero Biju and Jacobinte Swargarajyam. For the performance as a volleyball coach in Karinkunnam 6s, Manju Warrier will be given the best actress award of the year 2016. The other winners include Manikandan (Kammatipaadam), Renji Panicker, Kabir Bedi, Kunchacko Boban, Shane Nigam, Aparna Balamurali, Tovino Thomas, Rajisha Vijayan, Gokul Suresh, Aju Varghese, Asha Sharath, director Priyadarshan, musicians MG Sreekumar, Gopi Sunder, KS Chithra, Sreya Jayadeep, and Arjunan master.

Vineeth Sreenivasan's family entertainer Jacobinte Swargarajyam has been selected as the best film of the year, while Mohanlal's crime thriller Oppam and action thriller Pulimurugan bagged the Outstanding Film and Popular Movie awards, respectively.

In the Tamil movies category, Vijay Sethupati and Tamannaah Bhatia bagged the Best Actor award for their performance in Dharma Durai. Baby Nainika, who made her debut in Ilayathalathapathy Vijay's Theri, has been selected as the Best Child Artiste. The event will also honour young Telugu star Ram Charan with the Youth Icon award. 

The star-studded award night that is expected to be attended by more than 40,000 people, will be held at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Friday, November 18. The gala event, which will be hosted by Ranjini Haridas, will also see performances by singers Karthik, Sid Sriram, Afsal, Kavya Ajit, actors Shamna Kasim, Aparna Balamurali, Paris Laxmi, Ramesh Pisharody and D4Dance fame Ramzan, among others. The award night will be telecast later on Kairali TV in India and the Gulf region.

When and where to book tickets for Asiavision Movie Awards
Tickets are available at all the LULU Hyper market outlets across Dubai and Northern Emirates. It can also be booked online through Ticket prices are AED 25, 50, 100, 200, 500 and 2000. For more details, contact 043707017 or send an e-mail to

Check out the full winners' list here:

Asiavision Movie Awards 2016 winners
Asiavision Movie Awards 2016 winnersIBTimes India