Sakshi Malik and Vineh Phogat
Sakshi Malik and Vineh PhogatVinesh Phogat / Instagram

One of the biggest competitions for the Indian amateur wrestlers this year is the Asian Wrestling Championship, starting on Wednesday, May 10, in New Delhi.

Bronze medallist at 2016 Rio Olympics Sakshi Malik remains the star attraction of the Asian Associated Wrestling Committee (AAWC) organised annual event. Besides Sakshi, the likes of Ritu Phogat and Vinesh Phogat remain the key attractions for India in the women's wrestling event.

"This is the first international tournament I will be competing in after the Olympics and I am confident of my training and preparation while coming into this event," mentioned Sakshi ahead of the tournament.

"Participating at the championships is also going to be an experience that I look forward to and I know I am carrying the expectations of many post the medal at Rio.

"I know I am going to be giving this my best and I look forward to aiming for another medal, this time at home," Sakshi, who recently got married to Satyavrat Kadian, added.

Among the male wrestlers, Sandeep Tomar and Bajrang Punia remain the big names. 

Asian Wrestling Championship 2017: All you need to know

Dates: May 10-May 14.

Teams participating: Iran, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Japan, Korea, China, India, Mongolia.

Venue: KD Jadhav Indoor Stadium, New Delhi.

Key names missing: Yogeshwar Dutt, Sushil Kumar, Geeta Phogat, Babita Phogat.

Indian wrestlers participating

  Name Weight division
Men's freestyle Sandeep Tomar 57 kg
  Harful 61 kg
  Bajrang Bhunia  65 kg
  Vinod 70 kg
  Jitender 74 kg
  Somveer  86 kg
  Satyavrat Kadian 97 kg
  Sumit 125 kg
Men's greco-roman Gyanender 59 kg
  Ravinder 66 kg
  Deepak 71 kg
  Gurpreet 75 kg
  Harpreet 80 kg
  Anil Kumar 85 kg
  Hardeep 98 kg
  Naveen 130 kg
Women's wrestling Ritu Phogat 48 kg
  Pinki 53 kg
  Vinesh Phogat 55 kg
  Sakshi Malik 58 kg
  Sarita  60 kg
  Ritu Malik 63 kg
  Divya Kakran 69 kg
  Jyoti 75 kg

Competition history (Total titles)

  Most successful team India (in comparison)
Men's Freestyle Wrestling Iran (24 titles) 1 title
Men's Greco Roman Wrestling Iran, South Korea (10 titles) None
Women's Wrestling Japan (12 titles) None