Vijay Awards
Vijay AwardsTwitter/ Vijay Television

The biggest awards night of Tamil cinema is here. Vijay Television will telecast of Vijay Awards at 2pm on 17 May (Sunday). The promos of the show assure the event was packed with entertainment.

The 9th Annual Vijay Awards event was held at SDAT Indoor Stadium (Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium), Chennai on 25 April, 2015 to honour the best performers of Tamil cinema in 2014. The jury included filmmaker R Balki, actor and filmmaker K Bhagyaraj, actor and filmmaker Yuhi Sethu, filmmaker KV Anand and actress Nadia Moidu.

A separate category of Favourite Awards including Favourite Hero, Favourite Heroine, Favourite Film, Favourite Director and Favourite Song was included, based on public voting.

Hosts of 9th Vijay Awards

As in the past, its popular television anchors C Gopinath and Divyadarshini hosted the show. Gopinath's witty one liners and Divyadarshini's enthusiasm were apparently the biggest plus points of the show.

What audience can expect from the show

Vijay Television has packaged something really big for viewers. The promos had indicated that the audience will get to watch some back stage fun and exclusive interviews.


Viewers will get to watch some exclusive performances by Prabhu Deva, Tamannaah, Pooja Kumar, Hip Hop Tamizha, Shruthi Haasan and Laksmi Menon.

Prabhu Deva has danced for some popular dance numbers, including "Chikku Bukku Raile" from "Gentleman" and "Dandanakka Dandanakka" song from the movie "Romeo Juliet". To make the performance interesting, actor Jayam Ravi also danced along with Prabhu Deva.

The highlight of the show is the performance by Shruti Haasan along with her father Kamal Haasan, for the hit song "Rum Bam Bam Aram Bam" from Kamal's hit movie "Michael Madhana Kama Rajan".

The awards function was attended by many celebrities and artistes, including music maestro Ilayaraja, KS Ravikumar, Linusamy, Gautham Vasudev Menon, Dhanush, Siva Karthikeyan,Karthik, Gautham Karthik, Parthiepan, Dulquer Salmaan, Anirudh Ravichander, Dulquer Salmaan, Amala Paul, Khushboo, Bhagyaraj, Poornima Bhagyaraj, Simran, Arun Vijay, Hansika, Amy Jackson, Vijay Miltion and SJ Suryah.

Here are the promos of 9th Annual Vijay Awards by Vijay Televsion