Pakistan have been in great form of late, defeating Sri Lanka in the island nation in the T20 and the ODI series. The men in green will be eager to continue their winning ways during their Zimbabwe tour, which includes 2 T20s and 3 ODI matches to be played during September and October.

The first T20 match of the series is scheduled to be played at the Harare Sports Club in Zimbabwe on Sunday.

The home team will be eager to take revenge against a strong-looking Pakistan side, which defeated Zimbabwe in the last ODI and T20 series in May. Though Zimbabwe put up a strong fight against Pakistan then, they need to come up with an even better performance in the upcoming series as the African nation failed to win a single match in the series played in May.

Zimbabwe come into the series as a confident unit after having played some decent cricket against India in New Zealand in their last home series. Zimbabwe, who drew the T20 series against India, won one ODI against New Zealand.

Zimbabwe need to come up with a better performance against Pakistan for the men in green announced a solid squad featuring top Pakistan players. Shahid Afridi will lead Pakistan in the T20 series, while Azhar Ali will be the captain in the ODIs. 

The team will want its star players such as Shahid Afridi, Mohammed Hafeez, Wahab Riaz and Sohail Tanvir to deliver, especially with the mega series against England coming up in October.

Hence, this series could act as a perfect preparation for them. A great series against Zimbabwe could help them gain confidence against England, who are one of the strongest sides in world cricket.

Team Squads

Pakistan T20 Squad: Shahid Afridi (c), Mohammed Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Mukhtar Ahmed, Umar Akmal, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Irfan, Bilal Asif, Wahab Riaz, Imad Wasim, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Rizwan (w), Imran Khan Jr.

Pakistan ODI squad: Azhar Ali (c), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed (w), Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Irfan.

Zimbabwe Squad: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Sikandar Raza, Chamu Chibhabha, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Neville Madziva, Hamilton Masakadza, Chris Mpofu, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Taurai Muzarabani, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Prosper Utseya, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams.

Complete schedule of Zimbabwe vs Pakistan matches 

1st T20 – 27 September, 1pm local time (4:30pm IST, 4pm PKT) in Harare

2nd T20 – 29 September, 1pm local time (4:30pm IST, 4pm PKT) in Harare

1st ODI –1 October, 9:30 am local time (1pm IST, 12:30pm PKT) in Harare

2nd ODI – 3 October, 9:30 am local time (1pm IST, 12:30pm PKT) in Harare

3nd ODI – 5 October, 9:30 am local time (1pm IST, 12:30pm PKT) in Harare

Also read