Xbox One
Next Xbox One update to feature "minor fixes," says Microsoft executive. Pictured: People wait in line to play Microsoft Xbox games at the Electronic Entertainment Expo, or E3, in Los Angeles, California, U.S., June 16, 2015.Reuters

Xbox One users can expect a new update in the "next week or so," Mike Ybarra, Xbox engineer at Microsoft, said via Twitter. He further added that the update will only be adding some "small fixes."

"In the next week or so you'll see a minor update to the system software in Xbox One. Small fixes, nothing major," Ybarra said in his tweet.

Apart from this, GameSpot reported about a possible Anniversary update for Xbox One and Windows 10 that could add background music and Cortana support among a host of other features. These new features could be revealed at the upcoming E3 2016 annual gaming event in Los Angeles.

Talking about Microsoft's presence at E3 2016, the company has already revealed that it will be holding a press conference on June 13 at 1 p.m. PST/4 p.m. EST/9 p.m. BST/10 p.m. CET.

Rumours had suggested that Microsoft could unveil an improved Xbox One, something similar to the rumoured Sony's PS4k or "NEO," which is said to have powerful features designed for PlayStation VR and 4K output.

Meanwhile, a scared fan was seen asking Phil Spencer, head of Microsoft's Xbox division, about games like "ReCore" and "Phantom Dust" not being in the news. Spencer replied to him with the tweet, "Don't be afraid of not a lot of game news this time of year, it's normal."

So, Xbox One fans might have to brace themselves for potential surprises at E3 2016.

Also read
Quick Links