jinder mahal, wwe
Jinder Mahal / Instagram

Can the relatively unknown Jinder Mahal become the WWE Champion this Sunday, May 21? That remains to be seen as we head into the WWE Backlash 2017, featuring superstars from the SmackDown Live event.

Mahal, a Canadian pro wrestler with Indian roots, is clashing with veteran Randy Orton in the main event.

Backlash 2017 also marks the in-ring debut of Japanese pro wrestling sensation Shinsuke Nakamura in a WWE main roster event. The 37-year-old New Japan Pro-Wrestling (NJPW) legend takes on Dolph Ziggler in a singles match.

Soccer video game Rocket League, meanwhile, is the sponsor of the WWE event, while Canadian rock band 'Bleeker' has composed the theme song of Backlash 2017, titled Highway.

shinsuke nakamura, wwe
Shinsuke NakamuraWikimedia Commons / Courtney Rose

WWE Backlash 2017: Full list of matches

Tye Dillinger vs Aiden English (Pre-show) Singles match Tye Dillinger wins
The Usos (C) vs Breezango SmackDown Tag Team Championship Usos retain the title
Baron Corbin vs Sami Zayn Singles match Zayn wins
Shinsuke Nakamura vs Dolph Ziggler Singles match Nakamura wins
Naomi, Becky Lynch, Charlotte Flair vs Natalya, Carmella, Tamina Snuka Six-women tag team match Natalya's team wins
Kevin Owens (C) vs AJ Styles United States Championship Owens retains the title
Luke Harper vs Erick Rowan  Singles match Harper wins
Randy Orton (C) vs Jinder Mahal WWE Championship Jinder Mahal becomes the new champion

WWE Backlash: Schedule

Date: May 21

Time: 8 pm ET (12 am GMT, 5.30 am IST [Monday])

Venue: Allstate Arena, Rosemont, Illinois, Chicago.

TV guide: Ten Network (India), Sky Box Office (UK), pay-per-view (USA, Canada)

Theme song