Leander Paes Martina Hingis Wimbledon 2015
Leander Paes and Martina Hingis forms an incredible partnership in the mixed doubles competition.Reuters

With Sania Mirza out of the mixed doubles, Leander Paes and Rohan Bopanna are the two Indians in the fray for the title, with their respective partners. Paes partners Martina Hingis while Bopanna pairs alongside Yung-Jan Chan in the US Open 2015.

Paes, who won his last US Open mixed doubles title in 2008, has been in great form as far as the mixed doubles this season is concerned; the Indian legend has won two out the three slams this season partnering Hingis.

The Indo-Swiss pair could well be on their way to the third grand slam of the season, but the road ahead is not going to be easy, as the competition has moved  into the business end of the US Open. After winning their first round match with relative ease, they were handed a second round walkover.

So one can deduce Paes and Hingis have not been tested in the mixed doubles competition. However, their third round opponents, Simona Halep and Horia Tecau, will be eager to upset one of the favourites for the title.

Halep, who is primarily a singles specialist, will depend on the expertise of Tecau in the doubles match. The Indo-Swiss pair will not forget Tecau easily as the Romanian, who had partnered Katarina Srebotnik in the French Open, defeated Paes and Hingis out of the tournament. 

When it comes to Paes and Hingis, one always expects a superb display of tennis, with Paes' reflexes and style at the net on full show. One doubts if there is any player in the world at present better than Paes at the net in the doubles arena.

Not only are Paes and Hingis favourites for the title, the other pair of Bopanna and Yung-Jan, who are seeded second in the competition, are also on course for their first grand slam title. They face Su-Wei Hsieh and Henri Kontinen in the other quarter-final.

In fact, Bopanna has never progressed beyond the quarter-final stage of the competition, so a victory against Hsiesh and Kontinen will help Bopanna book his first semi-final berth in the mixed doubles.

The second seeds have been mighty impressive in their run up to the quarter-finals as they have not lost a single set. Their performance on the court has been outstanding, but they cannot afford to take their round of 8 opponent easily.

However, if both Paes and Bopanna win their respective quarter-final clash on Monday, these Indian players will face each other for a place in the finals of the US Open mixed doubles.

Where to Watch Live

Martina Hingis/Leander Paes vs Simona Halep/Horia Tecau match is approximately scheduled for 7pm local time (4:30am IST, 12am BST, 9am AEST)start , while Rohan Bopanna/Yung-Jan Chan vs Su-Wei Hsieh/Henri Kontinen is scheduled for 6pm local time (3:30am IST, 11pm BST, 8am AEST)start.

The entire live coverage of the 2015 US Open is scheduled for 11am local time (8:30pm IST, 4pm BST, 1m AEST) start with live TV coverage in India on Ten Sports with live streaming option on tensports.com.

Day 8 live coverage can be followed by UK viewers live on Sky Sports with live streaming on Sky Go.

Viewers in the US can enjoy the entire action on ESPN and online on Watch ESPN.

Fox Sports will offer live coverage of the US Open 2015 in Australia with an online option on Foxtel.

Also read