Andy Murray
Andy Murray has a tricky first round match against Nick Kyrgios.Reuters

Two major contenders of the US Open 2015 -- Roger Federer and Andy Murray -- will be in action on Day 2 of the competition on Tuesday. Roger Federer is set to face Leonardo Mayer, while Murray faces a tricky clash against Nick Kyrgios in the first round encounter at Arthur Ashe Stadium.

Federer, who has not won the US Open for the last six years, will be gunning for his sixth title, but the former world number one needs to be on top of his game to win the last grand slam of the year with Novak Djokovic in the fray for his third grand slam of the season.

However, Federer, after defeating Djokovic in the finals of the Cincinnati Masters, should be confident of a good US Open this time after having lost in the semi-finals last year. The Swiss maestro does not want to think about the business end of the competition at present as he wants to take it one game at a time.

"I feel like I have a good chance but I really can't think further than my first-round opponent right now," AFP quoted Federer as saying.

"My focus needs to be not trying to win the tournament right away. That would be thinking too far ahead. I haven't been in the final in this tournament as of late. I came close but close is not good enough."

Federer's first round opponent, Mayer, might not trouble the Swiss ace much as the Argentinean has never progressed past the third round of the US Open in his singles career. But, Federer cannot afford to take Mayer lightly as well, especially after fourth seed Kei Nishikori was shown the exit door by a lesser known Benoit Paire in the first round.

Another US Open favourite, Andy Murray, who is up against Kyrgios, also has to be on his toes against the Australian. Murray after winning the US Open in 2012, has failed to go beyond the quarter-final stages at Flushing Meadows and will be keen to come up with a better performance and clinch only his third grand slam title.

If the Scot gets his game going from the baseline, it is going to help his cause, but John McEnroe has pointed out the need for Murray to come up at the net more often to defeat the likes of Federer and Djokovic.

Kyrgios came up with a decent performance in 2015 Wimbledon as he reached the fourth round of the competition. The Australian should be fired up to deliver in the US Open after grabbing headlines for his remarks on Stan Wawrinka's girlfriend for which he was suspended for 28 days and fined a hefty amount.

So the best way to receive positive media attention is by creating the biggest upset, defeating Andy Murray in the US Open.

Where to Watch Live

Roger Federer vs Leonardo Mayer live match is expected to start at 3pm local time (12:30am IST, 8pm BST, 5am AEST), while Andy Murray vs Nick Kyrgios live match is scheduled for 7pm local time (4:30am IST, 12am BST, 9am AEST), while

However, the entire Day 2 live coverage of the 2015 US Open is scheduled for 11am local time (8:30pm IST, 4pm BST, 1m AEST) start with live TV coverage in India on Ten Sports with live streaming option on

All the Day 2 action can be followed by the UK viewers live on Sky Sports 1/HD with live streaming on Sky Go.

Viewers in the US can enjoy Roger Federer vs Leonardo Mayer and Andy Murray vs Nick Kyrgios match live among other key matches on ESPN and online on Watch ESPN.

Fox Sports 4 will offer live coverage of the US Open 2015, which includes Roger Federer vs Leonardo Mayer and Andy Murray vs Nick Kyrgios match live  in Australia with an online option on Foxtel.

Also read