Serena Williams
Serena Williams has won the last three editions of US OpenReuters

Both the top seeded players this US Open--Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams--will be in action during their respective men's and women's singles second round clashes at Arthur Ashe Stadium in New York on Wednesday.

Novak Djokovic, who has been in tremendous form this season so far winning two of the three grand slams, is a top favourite to clinch his third one of the year. He beat his first round opponent Joao Souza with ridiculous ease as the score read 6-1, 6-1, 6-1. Djokovic meets Austria's Andreas Haider-Maurer in the second round.

The Austrian played a brilliant game to oust Canada's Vasek Pospisil in the first round. Haider-Maurer came back from two sets down to win the last two sets convincingly and meet the Serbian in the second round. Haider-Maurer showed huge character in the first round match, but he needs to come up with his best game ever if he wants to come anywhere close to defeating Djokovic.

Haider-Maurer is aware of the tough draw, which awaits him on Wednesday as Djokovic should not be in much discomfort against the Austrian.

The Serbian is expected to face some stiff competition in the last grand slam of the year and he has to overcome some big players in the business end of the competition if he wants to lift the US Open title for the second time in his career.

If things go as anticipated, another Djokovic-Federer final looms large in the US Open.

"I'm not looking for a match against Federer. I'm looking for, I think, what most of the players are looking for here, and that's the trophy. I'm going to do everything in my power to get an opportunity to fight for a trophy. That's all I'm looking for," said Djokovic.

However, in the women's arena, Serena Williams has been a huge force in the US Open, which she has won six times in her career, including the last three titles in succession. Hence it goes without saying that she is the top favourite and with Maria Sharapova opting out of the competition. Serena could well win all the grand slams this season as she turned victorious in the Australian Open, French Open and the Wimbledon.

Serena Williams will face Dutch girl Kiki Berten, who had been quite impressive in the Australian Open as she reached the quarter-finals. But her performance in the last two grand slams has been far from inspiring with the first round exits.

Though Kiki Berten might have reached the second round of the US Open, she will have her task cut on against Serena Williams, who won her first round against Vitalia Anatolyevna Diatchenko after the Russian retired in the second set.

Both Djokovic and Serena are expected to reach the third round of the competition with ease.

Where to Watch Live:

Serena Williams vs Kiki Berten match is approximately scheduled for 3:30pm local time(1am IST, 8:30pm BST, 5:30am AEST), while Novak Djokovic vs Andreas Haider-Maurer is the second match, scheduled for 9pm local time (6:30am IST, 2am BST, 11am AEST).

However, the entire Day 3 live coverage of the 2015 US Open is scheduled for 11am local time (8:30pm IST, 4pm BST, 1m AEST) start with live TV coverage in India on Ten Sports and live streaming option on

All the Day 3 action can be followed by the UK viewers live on Sky Sports 1/HD with live streaming on Sky Go.

Viewers in the US can enjoy Novak Djokovic vs Andreas Haider-Maurer & Serena Williams vs Kiki Berten matches live among other key matches on ESPN and online on Watch ESPN.

Fox Sports 4 will offer live coverage of the US Open 2015, which includes Novak Djokovic vs Andreas Haider-Maurer & Serena Williams vs Kiki Berten match live in Australia with an online option on Foxtel.

Also read