Alvaro Morata Juventus
Can Alvaro Morata's Juventus finish atop Group D of the Champions League?Reuters

Spanish side Sevilla host Italian powerhouse Juventus in Group D of the UEFA Champions League on Tuesday, 8 December. While the Italian side will be looking to confirm their top spot at the end of the group games, the Spanish side will be eyeing the third spot.

Juventus and Manchester City have already progressed to the round-of-16 of the prestigious European competition this season, but the battle is still on for a top-of-the-group finish. Man City face Borussia Monchengladbach in the other game of the group, and if the Premier League side win but Juventus don't, City move to the top.

A spot for the Europa League is also up for grabs between Sevilla and Monchengladbach. The German side are currently third, but if they lose and the Spanish side get a victory tonight, they move to the third position.

The matches of the group will no doubt be crucial today, and both Sevilla and Juventus will be expected to have a close fight. For the La Liga side, it is now or never to continue their sojourn in the European competitions this season. "We have to beat Juventus to have a chance of playing in the Europa League, a competition that has given a lot to us," said Sevilla coach Unai Emery.

"Juventus have three world-class central defenders. It is true that we don't only depend on ourselves [in the race for third], so all we can do is play a good game. We have to look to be more dangerous in attack, and we are working on that," he added.

For the Turin giants, who have won the European competition on two occasions in the past, it is all about finishing in the top of the group. "It's of paramount importance that we finish top of our group," said Juve coach Massimiliano Allegri. "We want to avoid Real [Madrid], Barca or Bayern [Munich] in the last 16. We also want to finish the group unbeaten."

Sevilla vs Juventus is scheduled to kick-off at the Estadio Ramón Sánchez at 8:45 pm CET (1:15 am IST, 7:45 pm GMT, 2:45 pm ET).

Possible starting XI

Sevilla: Sergio Rico; Coke, Rami, Kolodziejczak, Trémoulinas; Iborra, Krychowiak; Vitolo, Banega, Konoplyanka; Gameiro.

Juventus: Buffon; Barzagli, Bonucci, Chiellini; Lichtsteiner, Pogba, Marchisio, Sturaro, Alex Sandro; Dybala, Morata.

Where to watch the game

Viewers in India can stream the game live on

UK viewers can catch the game on BT Sport Extra, while the online live stream option is on BT Sport Live. The BT Sport app will also show the match Live.

US viewers can catch the game on ESPN 2 USA with the option of live streaming on FoxSoccer2Go.

People in Spain can catch the game on beIN Sports Connect Espana.

Also read