Kane Williamson New Zealand
Kane Williamson has been in brilliant batting form against Zimbabwe. Reuters

After losing the first ODI against Zimbabwe, New Zealand bounced back to defeat the hosts in the two remaining matches to clinch the ODI series. 

Now, the action shifts to the shortest format of the game, T20, as the two teams will be playing the only T20 match at Harare Sports Club on Sunday.

Though New Zealand might look a strong side in the T20 format, they cannot afford to take the home team lightly as Zimbabwe snatched away victory from India in their last T20 match to draw the series level.

Zimbabwe will be keen to put up a similar performance and defeat the Black Caps on Sunday. They have the resources to pull off a huge win against New Zealand. Players such as Hamilton Masakadza, Sikandar Raza, Craig Ervine, Elton ChigumburA, Sean Williams will be key for Zimbabwe.

Giving that Raza and Ervine are riding high after scoring a century each in the ODI series, New Zealand bowlers need to bowl well.

The home team will primarily depend on the services of Ervine and Williams who have the ability to score quick runs. 

The Black Caps also have a number of match winners in Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor and Luke Ronchi. Williamson has been in amazing form, scoring 90 and 97 runs in the two chances he got to show his skills with the willow in the first and third ODIs, respectively.

Zimbabwe will have to take early wickets and not give freebies to the likes of Williamson and Taylor. With New Zealand not so impressive of late, they will be eager to emerge triumphant and head over to South Africa on a high note to play their two T20 matches against the Proteas. 

New Zealand bowling coach, Dimitri Mascherenas, feels that his boys are keen on a good performance against Zimbabwe.

"The boys are stoked. We lost our last Twenty20 match so we're looking to really put in a good performance and come out with a win. The wicket is likely to be a bit quicker and more bouncy, so we're going to have to adjust our line and lengths," ESPN Cricinfo quoted Mascherenas as saying.

Both the teams will be eager to finish off the series on a high note and this makes the only T20 match even more entertaining.

Where to Watch Live

New Zealand vs Zimbabwe T20 match has been scheduled for 1pm local time (4:30pm IST, 12 pm BST, 7 am ET, 11 pm NZ time) with live TV coverage in India on Ten Action with live streaming option here.

Viewers in the US can watch the New Zealand vs Zimbabwe T20 match live on Willow TV with live streaming on Willow TV.


Also read