Pragyan Ojha
Pragyan Ojha will look to make an impact for Bengal against Madhya Pradesh in the Ranji trophy quarterfinal.Reuters

Bengal will face Madhya Pradesh in the quarterfinals of the Ranji Trophy 2015-2016 at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai from Wednesay. 

Bengal finished second in the Group A points table, behind Vidrabha and two points ahead of Assam. 

They have made it to the qurterfinal of the Ranji trophy for the first time since the 2013-2014 season. The Manoj Tiwary-led Bengal will look to capitalise on this opportunity and make it to the final this time. 

Bengal's batsmen Sudip Chatterjee, Wriddhiman Saha and skipper Tiwary have been in good form, and they will be key in this quarterfinal. 

Ashoke Dinda, Veer Pratap Singh and Pragyan Ojha have bowled well for Bengal. In fact Dinda has been their highest wickettaker with 31 wickets.

The pitch has a tinge of grass on it and both skippers feel that it is going to assist the bowlers.  

"The wicket has little bit of grass. Usually it's not so. Normally the carry is there. Grass will help seamers. I expect the spinners to come into the picture at the end of third or fourth day though there will not be massive turn. It will assist fast bowlers more than spinners," Tiwary was quoted as saying by IBNLive.

"They are a strong side and have a few consistent performers. But they have not been tested in such kind of tracks and we have tall and quick bowlers to test them. We are up for the challenge."

Madhya Pradesh's Jalaj Saxena has been in sublime form with the bat as well as with the ball. Not only has he scored 530 runs, but he also has 46 scalps to his name. 

With Saxena in such form, Madhya Pradesh skipper Devendra Bundela is confident about getting past Bengal in the quarterfinal.

"We had changed our strategy and played on turning tracks this season. Over the last few seasons we had played on green tops [at home], so we have an advantage," said Bundela.

Squads: Bengal: Manoj Tiwary (C), Ashok Dinda, Wriddhiman Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Sudip Chatterjee, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Sayan Sekhar Mondal, Pankaj Shaw, Aamir Gani, Pragyan Ojha, Veer Pratap Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Rohan Banerjee, Pritam Chakraborty, Prasenjit Das, Ishan Porel.

Madhya Pradesh: Devendra Bundela (C), Naman Ojha, Jalaj Saxena, Harpritsingh Bhatia, Ankit Sharma, Ishwar Pande, Aditya Shrivastava, Rajat Patidar, Mihir Hirwani, S K Sakure, Shubham Sharma, Gaurav Yadav, Ashutosh Singh, Puneet Datey.

Where to watch live

The third quarter-final of Ranji Trophy 2015-2016 between Bengal and Mandhya Pradesh is scheduled for a 9:30 am IST start. The match will be broadcasted live on Star Sports 2 and Sports HD 2 in India

The fans can stream the match live on

For the live updates of all the matches, you can go to BCCI's official website.

Also read