british open final day
The scoreboard shows Paul Dunne of Ireland at the top during the third round of the British Open 2015Reuters

It is only the second time in the history of the Open Championship that the golfing major is going to finish a day after its scheduled finish.

Blame it on the weather, but you cannot take the excitement of a fitting finish that the British Open 2015 is going to see at the St. Andrews in Scotland on Monday.

As many as three golfers lead following the end of Sunday, with Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa), Jason Day (Australia) and Paul Dunne (Ireland) tied on -12 after three rounds.

World No. 2 Jordan Spieth isn't far behind in the standings, as the American is -11. The American's comeback is worthy of attracting plaudits as he was not even in the top ten following the designated end of day 2 on Friday.

Spieth's compatriot Dustin Johnson, who enjoyed a dream of a lead in the initial rounds, slumped to as low as -7 after the completion of three rounds. It is to be noted that Johnson had ended the rain-soaked day 2 of the British Open on -10, but he tasted a dramatic fall in the standings.

However, having said that, this is the  tournament where, on the final day, anyone can make a charge and grab a win.

The 144th Open Championship promises to have one of the most closely-contested finishes, and the joint-lead enjoyed by amateur golfer Paul Dunne is a stuff of dreams, as we enter the final day.

"It's surreal that I'm leading The Open, but I can easily believe that I shot the three scores that I shot. If I was playing an amateur event here, I wouldn't be too surprised. It's just lucky that it happens to be in the biggest event in the world," the Irishman said.

"Hopefully, I can do it again tomorrow but, whether I do it or not, I'll survive either way."

Even Speith, who is looking forward to getting his hands on the treble of the Masters, US Open and Open in the same year -- and become the first man since Ben Hogan in 1953 to achieve the feat -- shared the same sentiments, and praised Dunne, who is just a year older than him.

"I recognise what's at stake," said Spieth. "But 'free-rolling' is the phrase I'd use [to describe his (Paul Dunne) attitude].

"I'm going into the final round with plenty of confidence and comfort, which frees me up a little bit to take extra chances."

Oosthuizen also rightly pointed out what's in store on the final day: "[It] is going to be a tough day. There are so many players who can still win this. I think it's going to be one of the tightest Opens ever."

Day 3 Highlights

On Monday, Spieth will be teeing-off along with Jason Day at 2:20pm BST (6:50 pm IST, 9:20am EST), while Oosthuizen will be teeing-off along with Dunne at 2:30 BST (7pm IST, 9:30am EST)

Where to Watch Live

The Open Championship 2015 - third-round tee-off - starts at 7:45am BST (12:15pm IST, 2:45am EST).

The championship will be broadcast in India on Star Sports HD2 & on Star Sports HD4.

The UK audience can catch it live on BBC Two, BBC Radio 5 live sports extra, BBC Radio 5 live. The live streaming option is on BBC iPlayer.

US residents can watch the golfing major at ESPN, with the option of live streaming on Watch ESPN.

Live streaming is also available on the official website.