Leander Paes India
Leander Paes, 41, is still going strong in the ATP circuit.Reuters

After winning the first round match of the women's doubles, Sania Mirza, along with her partner Martina Hingis, will be in action on Friday for their second round clash at the French Open against the French pairing of Stephanie Foretz and Amandine Hesse.

Top seeds, Sania and Hingis will go in as the favourites against the unseeded French pair, who won their first round clash in straight sets 7-5, 6-4 over Elena Bogdan and Vladimíra Uhlířová.

Sania-Hingis was dominant in their first round clash against German-Czech pairing of Julia Goerges and Barbara Krejcikova with the score reading 6-3, 6-0. The Indo-Swiss pair might not have been impressive on clay in their previous events, but they have been hugely successful ever since they decided to string a partnership in the WTA doubles circuit.

They have won three titles together and will be looking for their first Grand Slam together, especially Sania Mirza, who has not won a women's doubles Grand Slam title.

However, in the men's doubles circuit, Leander Paes has stamped his authority in world tennis with his amazing display on the court. He has won all the Grand Slams and will be looking for his second French Open this year.

Leander Paes and his experienced partner Daniel Nestor were tested by the doubles pair of James Duckworth and Chris Guccione in the first round, as the match stretched to three sets. The final score read 6-2, 5-7 and 7-5 in Paes and Nestor's favour. It was their experience, which helped them win the match.

Paes and Nestor will clash against the unseeded Andre Begemann and Julian Knowle in the second round of the competition. The Indo-Canadian pair will not want another three-setter, considering their age, with Paes 41 and Nestor 42.

But, make no mistake, while these players might have crossed their forties, they still have the hunger and will to win Grand Slams.

Another Indian, Rohan Bopanna will also be in action today alongside his partner, Florin Mergea of Romania. The Indo-Romanian pair will face a tricky match against Austin Krajicek and Donald Young from the US.

Bopanna and Mergea came back from a set down to win their first round clash against Serbian combination of Filip Krajinovic and Viktor Troicki. The score was 5-7, 6-3, 6-4. It is such determination, which helped them win the Madrid Masters on clay as well, so Bopanna and Mergea will be upbeat about their chances of winning the French Open.

Where to Watch Live

Rohan Bopanna/ Florin Mergea vs Austin Krajicek/Donald Young is scheduled for 6:30pm local time (10pm IST, 12:30pm ET, 5:30pm BST) start.

Leander Paes/ Daniel Nestor vs Andre Begemann/Julian Knowle is scheduled for 1 pm local time (4:30pm IST, 7 am ET, 12pm BST) start.

Martina Hingis/Sania Mirza vs Stephanie Foretz/Amandine Hesse is scheduled for 3pm local time (6:30pm IST, 9am EST, 2pm BST) start.

Country TV Broadcaster
India Neo Sports and Neo Prime
United Kingdom Eurosports 1,2 and ITV
Australia Fox Sports
Country Online links
UK and Europe ITV Player and Eurosport Player
US Watch ESPN, Tennis Channel and NBC Sports Live
Also read