Leander Paes
Three-time French Open champion Leander Paes will start his 2015 Roland Garros campaign on Wednesday.Reuters

The top seeds in the French Open women's doubles -- Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis -- will look for their first Grand Slam title together, after achieving huge success following the decision to play together on the WTA circuit. The Indo-Swiss pair have played six tournaments together and won three titles so far.

Sania and Hingis will meet the German-Czech pairing of Julia Goerges and Barbara Krejcikova in the first round of the competition, and the pair will be confident of making a passage through to the second round.

Sania's best performance in any Grand Slam in doubles has been her runners-up finish during the 2011 French Open, where she paired alongside Russian Elena Vesnina. This time with a seasoned partner at her side, Sania will hope to go one better. 

In the men's doubles arena, things have not started brightly for the Indians, after the disappointing exit of Mahesh Bhupathi from the first round of the French Open. Hence, the onus falls on Indian stars such as Leander Paes and Rohan Baopanna, who will both be in action on Wednesday with their respective partners.

Paes, partnering Daniel Nestor, will start off his campaign against the doubles pair of James Duckworth and Chris Guccione, and the Indo-Canadian pair with their experience in the doubles circuit have it in them to go all the way. They have been seeded 10th in the competition. The pair has not been in good form on the red clay, as they were ousted from the Madrid Masters in the second round, after losing to the pairing of Feliciano Lopez and Max Mirnyi.

Paes and Nestor need to use all the experience they have gathered over the years, for a deep Roland Garros run. Both these players have been impressive on clay over the years, with Leander Paes winning the French Open three times, and Nestor winning four Roland Garros titles.

There is no dount about their quality, but age could be a factor with Paes 41 and Nestor 42.

While, Leander Paes might be coming towards the end of his professional career, Rohan Bopanna has been earning a good name in the circuit. He will partner Romanian Florin Mergea in the doubles competition as they prepare to face Filip Krajinoic and Victor Troicki in the first round of the competition.

The Indo-Romanian pair has been seeded ninth, which might be due to their impressive performance during the Madrid Masters, where they won the title, defeating Nenand Zimonjic and Martin Matkowski in the final.

Where to Watch Live

Rohan Bopanna/ Florin Mergea vs Filip Krajinoic/Victor Troicki is scheduled for 11 am local time (2:30pm IST, 5 am ET, 10 am ET) start.

Leander Paes/ Daniel Nestor vs James Duckworth/Chris Guccione is scheduled for 1 pm local time (4:30pm IST, 7 am ET, 12pm BST) start.

Martina Hingis/Sania Mirza vs Julia Gorges/Barbara Krejcikova is scheduled for 1:30pm local time (5pm IST, 7:30 am EST, 12:30pm BST) start.

Country TV Broadcaster
India Neo Sports and Neo Prime
United Kingdom Eurosports 1,2 and ITV
Australia Fox Sports
Country Online links
UK and Europe Eurosport Player and ITV Player
US Watch ESPN, Tennis Channel, NBC Sports Live
Also read