Lewis Hamilton
Mercedes driver is again expected to triumph in the Spanish Grand Prix this weekendReuters

After the success of the four opening races in Australia, Malaysia, China and Bahrain, the 2015 Formula One moves to Europe as teams battle it out at the Spanish Grand Prix.

All eyes will again be on the dominant Mercedes side and their challengers Ferrari, who have hogged the podium places so far this season.

Last season's champion Lewis Hamilton has started his title defence in style as he has already managed to grab three victories in the first four races, establishing a 27-point lead at the top of the drivers' standings.

The 30-year-old Briton, who is again expected to triumph in Spain, admits that even he is surprised by his dominant performances this season.

"When you have had a season like we had last year it is not easy to continue or do better and the surprising thing is that it has been better than last year," Hamilton told Sky Sports.

The two time world champion feels that his success this season has been as a result of "trying new things" in each and every race.

"It's about trying new things and new approaches to techniques such as engine braking, accelerations, and all those different things," he added. "I've been trying to put new things into the mix and see if they work - sometimes they do, sometimes they don't - and when I'm driving against a competitor it is about not using the same pattern."

Despite not being able to win a single race so far, Hamilton's teammate Nico Rosberg sits in second place with 66 points, followed closely by Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel, who has picked up 65 points, thanks largely to his unexpected triumph in the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Rosberg says that he is feeling more confident after the last race in Bahrain, even though he finished third owing to a braking problem towards the end of the race.

"It felt like a good race," Rosberg told F1's official website. "I felt comfortable in the car, of course it was enjoyable to attack like that and pass the red cars. For sure it's given me a boost coming here to Barcelona."

Meanwhile, Vettel feels that the outcome of the race in the Spanish Grand Prix will give Ferrari a good estimate of how much competition they can give Mercedes this season.

"Historically Barcelona is a good indication of how strong your package is," the four-time champion told ESPN.

"I think if we can show we've made a step forward here then I guess that would be the case for the racing coming. Gradually you have to improve because that is the speed of Formula 1 but it is a good reference if you are faster here."

The former Red Bull driver insists that Ferrari are aiming to be faster in practice, qualifying and the main race this weekend.

"What we need to do is be faster in every condition and especially in the race when it matters for the points. That is what we are targeting."

Where to Watch Live

First Practice Session (Friday): 10 am - 11:30 am local time, 1:30 pm – 3.00 pm IST, 9:00 am to 10.30 am BST

Second Practice Session (Friday): 2 pm - 3:30 pm local time, 5:30 pm – 7 pm IST, 1 pm - 2:30 pm BST

Final Practice Session (Saturday): 11 am – 12 pm local time, 2:30pm - 3:30pm IST, 10 am – 11 am BST

Country TV Broadcaster
India Star Sports 4, Star Sports HD 4
US NBC Sports
Canada TSN 2
United Kingdom Sky Sports F1, Sky Sports F1 HD
Middle East and North Africa Bein Sports Arabia
Germany, Italy Sky Sport
France Canal+
Asia Fox Sports
Country Online links
India Star Sports Online
US NBC Sports Online
UK Watch Sky Sports
Middle East BeIN Sports Connect
Asia Fox Sports Online
Italy Sky Go Italy
Germany Sky Go Germany
Also read