Netherlands Arjen Robben Daley Blind
Netherlands have not had a great time in Euro 2016 qualifying so farReuters

Danny Blind will want to make the best possible start to life as Netherlands manager when Holland play Iceland in a Group A European qualifier at the Amsterdam Arena on Thursday.

Netherlands find themselves in a precarious position, having picked up just ten points so far from their six matches. They are in third place at the moment and out of a qualifying place for Euro 2016. The only way for the team that finished in third at the World Cup in 2014 to get back into the top two is by winning matches, starting with the one against Iceland.

"The style of play won't change too much -- the way we played before, we will continue in the same way in terms of formation," Blind, who replaced Guus Hiddink as the manager, told UEFA's official website.

"But when I talk about details, I could mean the exact timing in terms of putting pressure on opponents, in which area of the pitch, by which players, and what distance from your own goal. So really tactical things. There will always be differences, that's obvious."

Blind also made a big decision in appointing Arjen Robben as the new captain of the side with Robin Van Persie making way. The Fenerbahce striker, though, will be the vice-captain. If that change makes any difference to performances on the pitch, only time will tell.

"I'm very proud, Robben said. "To be captain of your country, that's something very special. But apart from that not much changes -- I will continue to take responsibility as I did before.

"Robin will do the same, and the other experienced players will do too. That's the most important thing at this moment. Of course you can't look past something like this -- for yourself as a person it's a great honour -- but we have only one goal and that's to reach the Euros."

Netherlands were beaten by Iceland in the reverse fixture, and the Nordic Island nation are currently in first place in Group A with 15 points, five more than Netherlands, who are also three behind second-placed Czech Republic.

With not too many matches remaining in the European qualifiers, Netherlands can ill-afford another disappointing result, something Blind will be well aware of.

Where to Watch Live

Netherlands vs Iceland is scheduled for an 8.45 pm CET (12.15 am IST, 7.45 pm BST, 2.45 pm ET) start with live coverage in India on Sony Kix. The Euro 2016 qualifier can also be watched via live streaming online on Livsports.

Viewers in the US can catch all the qualifying action live on ESPN3, while the live stream option is on Watch ESPN. Australia audience can catch Netherlands vs Iceland live also on ESPN.

Sky Sports 5 will show this European qualifier live in the UK, while the match can also be live streamed on Sky Go. Audience in Canada can catch the game live on Sportsnet World and Watch Sportsnet.

Also read