benfica bayern
Benfica players participate in a training session at the Allianz Arena ahead of their game against Bayern MunichReuters

German giants Bayern Munich take on Portuguese giants Benfica in their first-leg clash of the UEFA Champions League quarterfinal Tuesday at the Allianz Arena in Munich. Football fans might consider the German giants the favourites in the match, but according to the Bavarians' coach Pep Guardiola, there are no favourites in the game.

"They [Benfica] haven't conceded many goals and it is going to be an interesting game," said Guardiola to the BBC. "I don't feel like we're favourites."

The Portuguese giants got past Russia's Zenit St Petersburg with a 3-1 advantage over two legs in the previous round of the European competition. Bayern, on the other hand, defeated Serie A powerhouses Juventus 6-4 over two legs in the last round of the competition.

Both Bayern and Benfica also top their respective domestic leagues at the moment and the fixture thus is expected to be a spectacle.

"I am the Bayern coach and we always want to be the best but I really don't think we are the favourites going into this [game]," the Spanish coach told UEFA. "Benfica are playing very well at the moment and I have to admit I am very impressed.

"Their stats are very good. They know exactly what to do, they know how to read the game."

Benfica have won their previous eight fixtures in all competitions this season, and are looking close to unstoppable at the moment. "I would like to win the game — I want to win every game — but I know how difficult it will be. We have belief," said Benfica coach Rui Vitoria. "We will play with enthusiasm, with spirit and desire. And we want to enjoy it. I want my team to have fun."

The two sides were pitted against each other in the quarterfinal of the competition last season as well. While Benfica won the first leg 3-1, Bayern produced an inspired performance in Munich to get a 6-1 result and make a comfortable entry to the semi final of the competition.

Bayern's Arjen Robben is a major doubt for the game.

Where to watch live

Bayern Munich vs Juventus is scheduled to kick-off at 8:45 p.m. CET (12:15 a.m. IST, 7:45 p.m. GMT, 3:45 p.m. ET), April 5.

Viewers in India can catch the game on Ten Sports, while the streaming option of the game is also available on tensports.com.

UK viewers can catch the game on BT Sport 2, while the online live stream option is on BT Sport Live. The BT Sport app will also show the match Live.

US viewers can catch the game on Fox Sports 2 USA and ESPN Deportes TV. The option of live streaming is also available on Watch ESPNFoxSoccer2Go and Fox Sports Go.

People in Germany can tune into Sky Sport 1/HD and Sky Sport 2/HD. The live streaming is also available on Sky Go Deutschland. The radio commentary is available on Sport 1.

People in Portugal can tune into Sport TV 1 and RTP 1.

Also read