Amir Khan
Amir Khan has to defeat Chris Algieri if he is to have any chance of setting up a clash against Floyd Mayweather in September.Reuters

With Floyd Mayweather's opponent for the September fight not decided yet, Amir Khan is aware of the importance of his bout against Chris Algieri on Friday at the Barclays Center. Though a victory might not guarantee him a fight against Mayweather, it will be a step in the right direction for the mega fight.

But, it is not going to be easy against Algieri, who has only lost a single fight in his career. It was in November last year that the Algieri lost to Manny Pacquiao.

However, after his loss to Pacquiao last year, Algieri is said to be low on confidence, even if the boxer has it in him to defeat Amir Khan, who cannot afford to take the former mixed martial arts fighter lightly.

Despite three losses in the past, pundits have put Amir Khan as favourite. Defeating top boxers such as Devon Alexander, Marcos Maidana, Zab Judah is not easy, and Khan will be eager to show that he deserves to fight the best boxer of the current generation Floyd Mayweather, in what will be the American's last professional fight.

Algieri might not be as fast as Amir Khan inside the ring, but with an added height advantage, Algieri has the better reach, which he needs to capitalise on. With immaculate footwork, his defense is top notch, which Khan will be eager to split open.

Khan needs to use his straight punches to good effect against Algieri. What makes Khan even more of a favourite is the way Algieri fought against Pacquiao, where he could not handle the Filipino's speed. Khan may opt for the same strategy.

Amir Khan is aware that he cannot afford to make any mistakes, as it could cost him the bout and a fourth loss of his career.

"I will be limited if I lose, so I cannot afford to make any mistakes. There is a lot of pressure on this fight in the sense that if you make a mistake you are done," Mirror quoted Khan as saying.

No matter, how much one tries to focus on the Friday's bout alone, Mayweather's last fight in September looms large with Khan being one of the contenders to fight the American.

Khan feels that he can cause Mayweather big problems if they fight.

"I really believe that if I keep doing what I am doing and we get that fight against someone like Mayweather, I will cause him the biggest problems in his career," the Brit added.

Where to Watch Live

The fight between Amir Khan and Chris Algieri is scheduled for 6:30am IST (9pm ET and 2 am BST, 6 am Pakistan Time) start.

Country TV Broadcaster
US Spike TV
Middle East BeIN Sports
United Kingdom Box Nation
Pakistan PTV Sports
Country Online links
UK and Europe Box Nation
US Spike
Also read