India South Africa 2nd Test Rain Covers
this won't be the scenes on Day 5, hopefullyBCCI Official Website

Getting some batting practice will be the target for India on Day 5 of this second Test match against South Africa in Bengaluru.

After a gripping first day, the next three days were called off due to rain and wet conditions, making the final day of the Test all about getting some kind of confidence and time in the middle going before the third Test next week.

India were on top on this Test match, after bowling out South Africa for 214, and then batting until the end of the day without losing a wicket to finish on 80/0, however, all that has been rendered useless by the conditions.

Owing to the depression from the Bay of Bengal, Bangalore has seen gloomy, dreary and wet weather for well over a week now, and while it did not affect play on the opening day, the next three days suffered.

With just a day of play remaining – assuming, of course, we get anything in – all India can hope for is to see batsmen, Shikhar Dhawan, in particular, get a quality hit in the middle.

There is no rain in Bengaluru at the moment and providing the groundsmen can somehow magic a playable outfield, we could get some play in, finally.

It is such a pity to see this Test match crawl to a rain-hit draw, because after day one, it looked like being poised for an absolute cracker.

AB De Villiers will also be a little upset to watch his 100th Test match meander to nothingness; but then, who know, maybe the great man will get a hit out in the middle, if India decide to declare for some reason, and with that, maybe, we will get to see some more of those outrageous only-De-Villiers-can-hit-them shots.

Update: The umpires were supposed to hold an inspection at 10 am IST, but the covers have come back on at the Chinnaswamy owing to a slight drizzle. The forecast is for no rain today, so let's keep those fingers crossed.

Second update: The 10 am inspection has produced another inspection at 11.30 am IST. No rain for the moment, but the outfield remains a problem.

Where to Watch Live

India vs South Afirca 2nd Test, Day 5 is scheduled for a 9.15 am IST (3.45 am GMT, 5.45 am SAST, 11.45 pm ET) start. Live coverage of the Test match in India will be on Star Sports 3, Star Sports HD3, Star Sports 1, Star Sports HD1. The action can also be watched via live streaming online on Starsports online and Hotstar. Viewers in South Africa can watch all the Day 5 action on SuperSport, with the online live stream option on SuperSport Live.

Sky Sports will show the India vs South Africa Test match, Day 5 live in the UK, with the live streaming online option on Watch Sky Sports. Audience in the US can watch India vs South Africa final day live on Willow TV, with the action can be live streamed on Willow TV online.

Watch the second Test match in the Middle East and North Africa live on OSN Sports, while the match can be live streamed on OSN Play.

Also read