Japan will target top spot in Group E when they travel to Singapore for a 2018 World Cup qualifier on Thursday.

The Asian powerhouses currently lie second in Group E, two points behind Syria and level on points with Singapore, with their two closest competitors having played a game more.

A win will take Japan to the top of the pile in this three-way contest, and put them in control, but they will know it won't come easy, considering Singapore held them to a goalless draw in the reverse fixture.

The fact that the match ended 0-0 was largely down to some brilliant goalkeeping from Mohamad Izwan, but Japan manager Vahid Halilhodzic wants his team to be more clinical in front of goal on Thursday.

"In the Singapore match last time, we had as many as 20 big chances, but couldn't convert them," Halilhodzic was quoted as saying by Four Four Two.

"This time we want to covert chances to goals. This is an opportunity to get back to being ourselves. I want my players to stay motivated and composed. We will put up a good result to return to top spot in the group."

Halilhodzic believes his players will be extra motivated for this match, after seeing chance after chance go begging against Singapore last time out.

"For the players it will be a revenge game, but of course Singapore will play for their people," Halilhodzic added.

"We have to start quickly to go for the victory. So far, the opponents who have played against us are building a block of nine or ten players, so it's very difficult for us to score goals.

"Of course, if the goal comes as early as possible, it's great for us, but if it does not, we cannot lose confidence."

Having done so well away from home against Japan, one of the strongest teams in Asia, Singapore will want to impress again, this time in front of their own fans. Singapore manager Bernd Stange thinks another big result is possible, if his players can stay focussed through the 90 minutes.

"Our team is so far better prepared than in the last two matches," Stange, despite winning those two games, albeit unimpressively, was quoted as saying by Yahoo "We are fresher, better and [against Japan] we are curious [to find out] what we can deliver.

"[Our supporters] will know if the 0-0 in Tokyo was an accident or if we can deliver another surprise."

Where to Watch Live

Singapore vs Japan is scheduled for a 7.15 pm local time (4.45 pm IST, 8.15 pm Japan time, 11.15 am GMT, 6.15 am ET) start. For India viewers, there will be no live TV coverage of the World Cup qualifier.

Viewers in Singapore and Malaysia can watch the action live on Eleven Singapore, while audience in Japan can catch the World Cup qualifier live on Fuji TV.

Audience in the Middle East and North Africa will be able to watch Japan vs Singapore live on Bein Sports, with the online live streaming option on Bein Sports Connect.

Also read