USA women's football team
The US are one of the favourites to lift the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup.Reuters

The US are in search of a victory against Nigeria in the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup at Vancouver on Tuesday to finish atop Group D and seal their berth for the knock-outs.

Had the US defeated Sweden in their last match, they could have guaranteed the top spot as they had earlier defeated Australia in their first match. Sweden held the Americans to a goal-less draw, which makes this match against Nigeria an important one for the latter.

The US will not be going for anything less than a victory. The US are one of the favourites and they will be eager to register their second win in the competition when they take on Nigeria, who lost to Australia and drew with Sweden in an entertaining 3-3 draw.

The US need to be careful about Nigeria's attack, which may not be great, but with plenty of pacy players, they have it in them to scare the US.

The second team in the group will have a daunting task as they face Brazil, who have already qualified for the last 16. The US will be keen to avoid Brazil in the knock-out stages.

Japan are also one of the favourites in the competition and they face Ecuador in their group C encounter. They have been impressive in the tournament after they defeated Cameroon and Switzerland comfortably.

Japan sit at the top of Group C with six points and they are expected to brush aside the competition from Ecuador at Winnipeg on Tuesday.

Ecuador have been one of the worst teams in the competition conceding as many as 16 goals in the competition so far and with Japan set to square off against the South American side, expect them to be on the receiving end of Japan.

But, it is time for Japan to get their goal scoring form, as they have not been amongst the goals in their previous victories. With the competition moving into the business end, Japan needs to come up with their 2011 World Cup form, which saw them win the title.

Where to Watch Live

FIFA Women's World Cup match between Japan and Ecuador is scheduled for 4pm local time (2:30am IST, 5pm ET, 10pm BST), while the US-Nigeria match is schedule for 5pm local time (5:30am IST, 8pm ET and 1am BST) (There is no live coverage in India)

The US viewers can watch the game live on Fox Network with live streaming on Fox Soccer2 Go.

The UK viewers can catch the action live on British EuroSport2 and BBC3. Japanese viewers can watch it live on NHK Japan.

Also read
Quick Links