maradona
Argentina legend Diego Maradona will be gracing the football field after many years in an exhibition gameReuters

Football legends will take to the field and ply their trade in yet another one-off friendly match, the proceeds of which go to the charity. Termed United For Peace, the all-star match will take place at the Stadio Olimpico on Wednesday.

Italy legends Francesco Totti, Fabio Capello and Antonio Di Natale, along with Argentina football veterans Diego Maradona and Hernan Crespo as well as Brazil magician Ronaldinho, will be seen playing in the match, which is being organised under the aegis of Pope Francis. Two teams -- La Liga XI and Rest of the World XI -- will be seen in action.

The exhibition match will be raising funds that finances projects dealing with the aim of creating peace as well as enriching a large section of youngsters and children with basic education.

"Football is a human phenomenon, and special," Pope Francis was quoted as saying by the Catholic Register. "A sports event is a highly symbolic act that helps show it is possible to build a culture of encounter and a world of peace, in which believers of diverse religions conserve their own identity while living in mutual respect."

Maradona, who is regarded as one of football's greatest, credited Pope Francis for bringing him back to the Catholic faith. "He is doing a great job also inside the Vatican, which pleases all Catholics. I had distanced myself from the church for many reasons. [But] Pope Francis made me come back," the World Cup winner with Argentina in 1986 said.

Schedule

United for Peace: La Liga XI vs Rest of the World XI is scheduled for a 3 pm ET [12:30 am IST (Thursday), 7 pm GMT] start on October 12.

Where to watch live

US: TV - Telemundo. Live streaming - Telemundo Deportes.

Italy: TV - RAI 1.

International live streaming - Facebook Live.

Live score HERE.

Quick Links