Manchester United Schweinsteiger Mata
Manchester United will look to take their good Premier League form into the Champions LeagueReuters

English Premier League clubs will be in focus when Matchday 2 of the Champions League comes into play on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Only Chelsea managed to pick up a victory on Matchday One, with Manchester City, Manchester United and Arsenal all suffering disappointing defeats.

While City continue to struggle, losing their last two matches in the Premier League, Arsenal and Manchester United have shown some good domestic form, form they will try to take into the Champions League.

Arsenal will be back home for this European matchup, with Olympiakos, a familiar opponent, the team they need to beat to stay in contention in Group F. With Bayern Munich expected to top the group, Wenger will know another loss, like the one against Dinamo Zagreb, and Arsenal's Champions League last 16 hopes will fade considerably.

There were encouraging signs on Saturday, with Arsenal putting on a wonderful attacking show against the dangerous Leicester City, with Alexis Sanchez scoring a hat-trick.

"Certainly it was the most convincing going forward, yes," Wenger told Arsenal Player. "It was a tricky game because Leicester hadn't lost, and I was a bit concerned because we did not want to lose ground on the other teams -- so it was a big win for us."

Chelsea are the other English club to playing on Tuesday, as Jose Mourinho, whose team are still struggling in the Premier League, returns to his former team – FC Porto. Mourinho is still remembered for that touchline run when Porto beat Manchester United famously in the Champions League, and this match, no doubt, will be an emotional one for the Portuguese, who will again want his Chelsea team to put their domestic troubles behind them, much like they did on Matchday 1.

Champions Barcelona are also in action on Tuesday, and the Spanish club, smarting from an injury to their talisman Lionel Messi, will want to pick up all three points against Bayer Leverkusen, after Roma held them to a 1-1 draw in the opening match.

Manchester United, Manchester City and Real Madrid headline action on Wednesday, with Louis Van Gaal's men desperate to bounce back from the defeat to PSV Eindhoven. German club Wolfsburg are their opponents at Old Trafford, and Manchester United will need to put in the kind of assured performances they have been managing consistently in the Premier League, if they are to get the better of the Bundesliga club.

City, who threw away a one-goal lead to Juventus a couple of weeks ago, will be confident of three points against Borussia Monchengladbach, a team struggling in the Bundesliga, while Real Madrid will hope to have their goalscoring boots on against Swedish side Malmo, with Cristiano Ronaldo close to becoming the all-time leading goalscorer for the club.

Champions League Matchday 2 schedule (all matches 8.45 pm CET, 12.15 am IST, 2.45 pm ET, 7.45 pm BST unless stated specifically): Tuesday: Group E: Barcelona vs Bayer Leverkusen at Camp Nou

BATE Borisov vs Roma at Borisov Arena

Group F: Arsenal vs Olympiakos at the Emirates

Bayern Munich vs Dinamo Zagreb at the Allianz Arena

Group G: Maccabi Tel Aviv vs Dynamo Kyiv at Itztadion Sammy Ofer

FC Porto vs Chelsea at Estadio do Dragao

Group H: Lyon vs Valencia at Stade de Gerland

Zenit St. Petersburg vs Gent at Stadion Petrovskiy

Wednesday: Group A: Shakhtar Donetsk vs PSG at Arena Lviv

Real Madrid vs Malmo at the Bernabeu

Group B: Manchester United vs Wolfsburg at Old Trafford

CSKA Moscow vs PSV Eindhoven at Arena Khimki

Group C: Atletico Madrid vs Benfica at Vicente Calderon

Astana vs Galatasaray (6 pm CET, 9.30 pm IST, 12 pm ET, 5 pm BST) at Astana Arena

Group D: Borussia Monchengladbach vs Manchester City at Borussia Park

Juventus vs Sevilla at Juventus Stadium

Also read