Twitter Introduces Private Group Chats And Ad-Length Video Support
Twitter Launches Private Group Chats and Mobile Video Uploads To Fight RivalsTwitter Blog

Twitter is making its presence felt in the social media race by adding two new features that will help strengthen its hold in the competitive industry. Long after it hinted the arrival of new features back in November, Twitter officially confirmed two new services, mobile video uploads and private group chats, on Tuesday.

The micro-blogging giant explained both of its new features in a blog with examples of how they work.

Private Group Chats

Twitter has minimum options when it comes to private messaging. It has long offered the option to DM (direct message) other followers on the site when users wish to share information privately. But there was no way users could share information with a limited group of people at once, until now. Twitter's new private group chats allow users to carry out public conversations privately within a closed group.

Users can create a new group and add up to 20 followers, regardless of whether they follow you back. Within the group, users can share tweets, photos, links and emojis without the whole world knowing about it.

Mobile Video Uploads

Twitter is welcoming a new feature to its mobile app that allows users to share their experiences beyond words. With the new introduction, smartphone users will be able to capture, edit and share videos within the Twitter app.

"We designed our camera to be simple to use so you can capture and share life's most interesting moments as they happen. In just a few taps you can add a video to unfolding conversations, share your perspective of a live event, and show your everyday moments instantly, without ever having to leave the app," the company said.

The videos are limited to 30 seconds length. Currently, uploading videos from device's storage is available for iPhone users, but soon Android users will also be able to do the same. The new feature does not replace the existing Vine videos, which last six-seconds.

Both features are being rolled out to users in the coming weeks.

Quick Links